Skip to content

Flashback Friday: Books from the ’90s

2015 April 24
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

The Hub Loves the '90sIt’s Flashback Friday and The Hub is taking you back to the 1990s! Last week, Jessica Lind discussed the ’90s nostalgia emerging in contemporary pop culture in her post titles The Hub Loves the ’90s. Now we’re going to be flashing back to what young adults were reading in the ’90s. The inspiration for this post was the television show Fresh off the Boat. The show based on Eddie Huang’s best-selling memoir, is about a Taiwanese-American family living in the suburbs of Orlando, FL during the ’90s. The show gave me a very funny librarian thought: what if the tweenage Eddie went to the library on Fresh off the Boat– what would the librarian recommend to him? This thought caused me to crack open the librarian vault and take a journey back to the decade that had us rolling with the homies….

So it’s time to break out your flannel, find those old shoe-lace hair clips, put on Wannabe by the Spice Girls and grab your favorite Pogs, because we’re going to the 90’s!

read more…

Tweets of the Week: April 24th

2015 April 24
by Jennifer Rummel
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

Spring is here – Summer books are coming, BEA is coming, and blockbuster movies are coming.
I’ve got the round up of any news your might have missed this week.


Book News:

 · Enter the “If I were royalty” writing contest!
 · Photo: epicreads: The 20 Most Anticipated YA Books to Read in May ––>
 · What’s New in LGBTQIA+ This Spring — Teen Librarian Toolbox by
 · Photoset: bookriot: If you’re an iPhone user and a reader, check out these awesome bookish apps.
 · 25 Films You Might Not Know Were Based On A Book –
 · Whoa. A never-before-seen passage has been uncovered from ‘A Wrinkle in Time’!

Movie/TV News:

 · New report reveals ‘Star Trek 3’ may finally have an official title –
 · Stanley Tucci joins the all-star cast of Disney’s live-action :
 · Ewan McGregor cast as Lumière in Disney’s ‘Beauty and the Beast’ –
 · RT : New Trailer for THE LITTLE PRINCE
 · Why the cast of The Mortal Instruments Movie Won’t Be The Cast for The Shadowhunters TV Series
 · It’s official: orders revival, 13 episodes to arrive in 2016:
 · . sequel, movie score release dates:
 · Twitterverse, how are you feeling about being Jace in the new Mortal Instrument TV series?
 · ‘Maze Runner: The Death Cure’ release date announced, won’t be split –

Librarianship:

 · 16 Random Things You Should Probably Know About Today’s Teens – Buzzfeed
 · Turning the School Library into a Community Hub: Here’s How
 · Celebrate Teen Read Week this Oct! Apply now thru 6/1 for our $1000 literacy activity grants!
 · What are your kids making? Apply for the Build Something Bold Award by April 30
 · From YALSABlog: 30 Days of Teen : Low-Stress through Crafternoons
 · Banana pianos are just a start. SLJ Reviews MaKey MaKey
 · 30 Days of Teen Programming: Engaging All Teens in : Thinking Diversely, w/ a Prog Plan via
 · With Minecraft – You Can Now Explore The Tate Museum In Virtual Reality

Blogs:

 · ” Finding the courage to speak your truth is one of the most difficult lessons for teens to learn”:
 · Teen Library Program Ideas for Spring with Duct Tape:
 · Female friendships are a core theme in . I’m on Bustle today talking about putting the BFF in YA.
 · Can you read if you only have 5 minutes, or do you need bigger chunks of time to dive in?
 · Your guide to setting the web free for kids: our Great Websites for Kids site!
 · Love this list: our librarian on how she spring cleans her personal bookshelves.
 · 7 awesome YA heroines who know “girly” doesn’t mean “weak.”

Just for Fun:

 · Think you know your YA? Play this QuizBowl game inspired by ‘s THE START OF ME AND YOU!
 · 11 Reasons To Get Obsessed With “Lip Sync Battle” – Lip Sync Battle would be a great teen library program!
 · RT : Where’s the Quote from: Classic or YA Lit? Take the QUIZ!

~ Jennifer Rummel currently reading The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

YA Lit Dream Interpretation: Snakes

2015 April 23
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

In your dream you are walking along a path in the woods when suddenly the trail becomes writhing snakes.  You cannot walk, you slip, fall and land among them.  The snakes climb over and above you.  You cannot see the sky.  You are suffocating.  

You wake up suddenly. Startled and confused you wonder, what did it all mean?  Freud might have a lot of explanations for your dream.  But a better interpretation is: you need fiction to solve your nightmarish concerns.  No need to psychoanalyze when some reader’s advisory  has the cure.

As a positive symbol, snakes represent healing, transformation, knowledge and wisdom. It is indicative of self-renewal and positive change. (DreamMoods)

This nightmare about snakes sounds like an impetuous for growth.  Are you heading to college soon?  Are you taking driving lessons this spring?  What other opportunities are you facing?  The following titles will inspire and guide you to reach your potential.

14830774The Look by Sophia Bennett

Ted has the ultimate epiphany about modeling while on a photo shoot.  There is never a wrong time to choose what is right for yourself.  Learn to be yourself by reading about Ted’s struggle to escape her beautiful sister’s shadow.

 

9266763

Black Boy White School by Brian F. Walker

Ant is going to get out.  He’s getting out of dangerous neighborhood.  He is going to find a new life at a new school.  Too bad the new school has its own problems.  Now lines have been crossed and choices have been made.  Its time for Ant to take a stand and prove wherever he is, he can make a difference.  read more…

No Cheap Thrills Here: Complex, Character-Driven Thrillers

2015 April 22
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS
8111546235_3ba86e43cf_m

image from AshtonPal’s flickr

As many of my posts here at The Hub illustrate, I am a longtime fan of genre fiction.  My teenage reading habits primarily focused on several kinds of genre fiction including historical fiction, fantasy, and mysteries & thrillers.  I have a particular fondness for that final category as it is also one of my father’s favorite genres and we continue to trade off book recommendations to this day.  Accordingly, I’m always on the look out for new titles to read and to recommend to my equally suspense-addicted students.

As I expressed in my post about the particular appeal of Veronica Mars last spring, I especially enjoy genre fiction that takes advantage of its particular structure and characteristics to tackle larger topics and issues and tell complex stories in a fresh way. So I’ve been thrilled to see an especially rich crop of recent young adult novels that capitalize on specific qualities of the thriller subgenre to tell stories about the complicated intersections between gender, class, race, sexual orientation, mental health,  sexuality, violence, innocence, guilt, and justice.  These novels take advantage of careful pacing to build suspense and hook readers from their opening lines.  Each features narrators hiding secrets from other characters, from the reader, and from themselves.  These novels will not only keep you on the edge of your seat; they will also leave your mind spinning and buzzing for days afterwards.

FarFromYouFar From You – Tess Sharpe

Sophie is a survivor.  She survived a nasty car accident when she was fourteen and the brutal prescription drug addiction that followed.  Then when Sophie and her best friend Mina were attacked by a masked man in the woods, Sophie survived–and Mina didn’t.  To make everything worse, everyone believes that it’s Sophie’s fault that Mina is dead; the police decided that the attack was a drug deal gone wrong and accordingly all fingers pointed towards Sophie.  So even though she’d been clean for months before the murder, Sophie was shipped off to rehab and told be glad it wasn’t juvie.  But now Sophie’s back and she determined to find out the truth behind Mina’s murder.

complicitComplicit – Stephanie Kuehn

It’s been two years since Jamie saw his magnetic and frightening sister Cate and that’s precisely the way he’d like the situation to remain.  But then his parents tell him that Cate has been released from jail where she’s been serving time for her role in a local barn fire that killed several horses and left another girl severely burned.  Now it seems that Cate wants to see him and Jamie is beyond freaked out.  Even after years of therapy, Jamie hasn’t been able to shake his strange bouts of amnesia and the occasional & unpredictable loss of sensation in his hands and the specter of Cate’s return only exacerbates his symptoms.  Determined to gain some control, Jamie begins to dig deep into his past and his memories with possibly devastating consequences.

PointePointe – Brandy Colbert

Theo is finally starting to get her life in order again.  Her ballet instructor has singled her out as one of her top students and told her to seriously consider auditioning for specialized summer programs. It’s looking like her dreams of becoming one of the few African American professional ballet dancers might be in reach.    She’s eating again, she’s got some great friends, and she might be on the verge of something special with an almost appropriate guy.  Then Donovan Pratt returns.  Before he disappeared a few years ago, Donovan was Theo’s best friend.  And now Theo has all sorts of long buried memories bubbling up–including memories of her first boyfriend, a much older guy who disappeared around the same time as Donovan.

walls around usThe Walls Around Us – Nova Ren Suma

Amber and Violet live in separate universes. As a longtime inmate at Aurora Hills Secure Juvenile Detention Center, Amber understands its rules and the subtle social dynamics.  She treasures the brief moments of freedom in their strictly controlled lives–like the night when all the doors opened.  Meanwhile, Violet thrives on the very different but equally rigid routine of intense ballet training.  She’s counting the days until she can be free of the ugly events of a few years ago and make her escape to Juilliard.  But while their lives seem worlds apart, Amber and Violet’s stories are inexorably intertwined by twisty web of secrets, broken friendships, murder, guilt, and innocence–all centered on Ori, Violet’s best friend and Amber’s cellmate at Aurora Hills.  As she has with her earlier novels, Nova Ren Suma infuses this fascinating narrative with carefully orchestrated elements of magical realism.

Happily, this trend doesn’t seem to be going away any time soon.  Lauren Oliver’s newest novel, Vanishing Girlsexplores a complicated relationship between estranged sisters through the lens of a page-turning mystery.  Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton (May 2015) uses the high stakes competition and personal drama of an intense New York City ballet school as the setting for an adrenaline-fueled exploration of three different girls’ quests for dancing stardom. In June, The Devil You Know by Trish Doller and Delicate Monsters by Stephanie Kuehn both burst onto the scene and promise to bring mind-bending thrills and thought-provoking chills along with them.

-Kelly Dickinson, currently reading The Sweetheart by Angelina Mirabella and The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson

Jukebooks: Tear You Apart by Sarah Cross

2015 April 22
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

Tear You ApartViv lives in Beau Rivage, a place where magic still lingers in the blood of the accursed. Viv herself has the Snow White curse, irresistible beauty that can only end with the hunter’s knife or a prince’s love. When a sadistic fairy curses Viv’s boyfriend Henley to be the Huntsman, the one fated to carve out Viv’s heart, life gets worse than complicated.

For fans of mixed-up fairy tales, Tear You Apart is a deliciously dark treat. Cross creates a realistic world in which old, familiar dramas are reenacted with present day panache. Since this is a re-telling of the Snow White tale, it’s fun to look at one of the first contemporary versions, created by Walt Disney Studios. Released in 1937, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs featured the ideal girl of the day – lovely, virginal, and longing for that prince who loves her at first glance.

If only things were that easy for Viv.

Diane Colson, currently reading The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith.

New Member Manager for The Hub Sought

2015 April 21
by Anna Lam
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

First off, YALSA would like to thank Allison Tran for her leadership as The Hub’s member manager since 2013. Allison will be leaving her role as manager of The Hub when her term ends on August 14, 2015. As a result, YALSA is seeking a new member manager to begin in August 2015. Interested in the job? Read on after the jump to see the position description and qualifications and find out how you can apply. Applications are due to alam@ala.org by June 1, 2015.

read more…

Life is a Highway

2015 April 21
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

Road trip books make people happy – maybe it’s because they’re seeing the world from the character’s view, maybe it’s because the characters are visiting places we long to visit ourselves, maybe it’s the feel of freedom, maybe it’s the change that inevitably happens to the characters along the way – or maybe it’s a combination. Now that it’s spring time, I’m ready to get in the car, crank the music, and see where the road takes me.

So here are a few road trip books – and because the video’s short, I’ll ask you to add your favorites in the comments.

Books in the Video:
Crash into Me by Albert Borris
The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour
Perfect Escape by Jennifer Brown
Two-Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt
Reunited by Hilary Weisman Graham
Going Bovine by Libba Bray (2010 Printz winner)
Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

-Jennifer Rummel, currently reading Flunked by Jennifer Calonita

Bingewatching YA Read- Alikes

2015 April 20
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

With all the ways to watch TV today including; on demand, DVR, and instant streaming it is possible to watch an entire series’ episodes back to back rather than in a serialized week to week format.  This kind of watching has been dubbed “binge-watching.”  Maybe when you hear this term, an image comes to mind of someone mindlessly watching hour after hour of TV whilst eating chips.   As fun as that sounds, “binge-watching” can also mean focusing on just one show over the course of many days or weeks.  As a reader the way I become immersed in the characters and world of a good book are a familiar, comforting feeling, and binge-watching a quality show can offer a similar (on-screen) experience.  Here are some great YA read-alikes inspired by some of my binge-worthy favorites.

Orange Is The New Black

Orange is the New Black

Orange is the New Black – One of Netflix’s original binge-worthy series. This is the story of a Piper, a privileged woman who has to serve prison time for a crime committed in her 20s.

Read-alikes:

monster-walter-dean-myers

Monster

* Monster by Walter Dean Myers (2000 Printz Award Winner, 2000 Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers , 2000 Best Book for Young Adults) A story told in the form of a screenplay by a young man incarcerated in a juvenile detention center.

* Hole in my Life by Jack Gantos (2003 Printz Honor BookPopular Paperback for Young Adult 2006 , 2003 Best Books for Young Adults). When Gantos was a young man with heavy debt and a promising writing career he agrees to help sail a ship packed with drugs from the Virgin Islands to New York City.   This memoir describes this well known author’s short-lived criminal career and his incarceration.

* Orange is the New Black: My Year in a Women’s Prison by Piper Kerman. The book that inspired the show; Kerman tells the tale of how she spent a year in prison the humiliations she endured, and the relationships she forged.

read more…

The Monday Poll: Vampire Books for National Garlic Day

2015 April 20
by Allison Tran
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

monday_pollGood morning, Hub readers!

Last week, we asked which fictional library you would visit in honor of National Library Week. Overwhelmingly, Hogwarts Library from the Harry Potter series was the top choice with 61% of the vote. Bet you’d go straight for the restricted section, too! You can see detailed results for all of our previous polls in the Polls Archive. Thanks to all of you who voted!

This week, we are belatedly celebrating National Garlic Day (which was yesterday, but it’s always time to celebrate garlic, right?). What’s the YA lit tie-in to garlic, you ask? Well, vampires! I know– that’s so 2008, right? But let’s revel in a little nostalgia and think back to when those creepy/sexy bloodsuckers were all the rage. What’s your favorite vampire series in YA lit? Choose from the options below, or suggest another in the comments.

What's your favorite vampire series in YA lit?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

2015 Hub Reading Challenge Check-In #10

2015 April 19
by Faythe Arredondo
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

Not signed up for YALSA’s 2015 Hub Reading Challenge? Read the official rules and sign up on the original post. Anything you’ve read since February 9 counts, so sign up now!

2015_reading_challenge_logo

Hey Readers!

How is the challenge going? I am not participating (again) this year because I am on an awards committee and currently reading for that. I did just finish listening to Gabi, a Girl in Pieces to refresh my memory since I read it last year for Quick Picks (it was in the top ten!) since my library teens are reading it for their book club.  How I love that book! The audio is great and you should give it a listen if you have a chance.

How many of you have finished? How many books are now your favorite? Any books surprise you? I love this challenge because it forces us to read outside of our comfort zones. I hope to get back into the challenge again!

Check in with how you’re doing, and find out what other Challenge readers are enjoying by commenting on the weekly check-in posts or participating on social media. You can use the hashtag #hubchallenge to post updates on Twitter or check out the 2015 Goodreads Hub Reading Challenge group.

2015 reading challenge logo - participantAs you all know, you have until 11:59 PM EST on June 21st to finish at least 25 challenge books (here’s the full list of eligible titles).   If you haven’t already, don’t forget to post the Participant’s Badge on your blog, website, or email signature, and, as always, if you have any questions or problems, let us know in the comments or via email.

If you have already completed the challenge by reading or listening to 25 titles from the list of eligible books, be sure to fill out the form below so we can send you your Challenge Finisher badge, get in touch to coordinate your reader’s response and, perhaps best of all, to notify you if you win our exciting grand prize drawing! Be sure to use an email you check frequently and do not fill out this form until you have completed the challenge by reading 25 titles.

read more…