Highly anticipated fall reading!

I love autumn. It’s my favorite season and favorite time of year. I am happiest from September through December. There are many things that contribute to this but one of those factors is definitely all the great new books that are published in the fall. New stories to discover, new stories to give as gifts or share with others during the upcoming holidays. It’s a great time for books to be released and I definitely spend my money in fall books. Here are just a few of the titles I am really looking forward to this autumn!

Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan is probably the book I am most anticipating. I’m not a really big fan of sci-fi, but when it captures me, it will capture me head on and Glow definitely does that. Told from the points of view of Waverly, who, along with all the other young girls on her ship, have been kidnapped, and Kieran, who is one of the boys left behind, this story tackles religion and spirituality, leadership, courage, and well, it is just fantastic storytelling. This is the first book in Amy Kathleen Ryan’s Sky Chasers series and I am on tenterhooks waiting for the next addition. Hand this book to all your teen readers interested in fantastical and sometimes scary journeys, who enjoy teens taking charge in the face of no adults, and who just want a great story. Glow fits the bill and you’re in luck, it comes out September 27.

Another book I’m looking forward to reading is a contemporary title called Past Perfect by Leila Sales. If you haven’t read Sales’ first book, Mostly Good Girls, what are you waiting for? It was very well done and I am hoping that Past Perfect will also be funny, poignant and just a great sell for teens. There is a historical colonial village in this book! I am beyond excited to read the adventures that ensue. (Despite the historical colonial village, let me reiterate, this is straight contemporary/realistic fiction). Sales is a humorous but genuine writer who hits teen emotions spot on. Past Perfect releases October 4!

Another contemporary title that I’m raring to read is My Beating Teenage Heart by C.K. Kelly Martin. This author has in the past written very strong contemporary YA titles but she’s going in a different direction with My Beating Teenage Heart and adding a bit of a supernatural spin. But don’t expect any zombies, ghosts or vampires. This is supernatural in an entirely different way. My Beating Teenage Heart comes out September 27!

Another book I am highly anticipating is The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder. When I attended ALA, this book was talked up quite a bit by the publishers and it seems like it will be an emotional story to read. I believe it’s another contemporary title also, which makes me extremely happy. Contemporary YA literature is what I fall head over heels in love with and fortunately, there seems to be a plethora of new titles coming out this fall that fit the bill. The Probability of Miracles comes out on December 8!

Finally, the last book I’m really excited about reading is Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. It’s getting plenty of buzz already, way before it’s November 15 release date. This is another book I heard about during my ALA travels and I’m so glad I did. It’s being billed as a readalike to The Hunger Games and it seems to touch on the current dystopian trend that is sweeping the YA world. I’m kind of tired of dystopian stories but I will admit, even this book has me excited. I think it’s going to be a sure pleaser with teens and the cover is gorgeous.

So, there you have it! A few more books to add to the neverending to-be-read pile. Hopefully one or two of these titles have piqued your interest. And hey, if you’re already read one of these titles and it’s lived up to the hype, please share in the comments.

Sarah Wethern, who is just finishing up Amy Kathleen Ryan’s Glow. Yes, it is totally living up to the hype for me!

3 thoughts on “Highly anticipated fall reading!”

  1. My Beating Teenage Heart, without question, is in my top 3 this year. So powerful, moving, heart-wrenching and….uplifting. The supernatural elements are, like you said, more The Everafter than TWILIGHT.

    And Glow was so fantastic, wasn’t it? I usually shy away from the hype, but when I got a chance to read it in September I was pleasantly surprised.

  2. They all have super covers, too! I was just thinking the other day that not only has YA literature come into its own, but I think YA book design is some of the best happening in the publishing world.

Comments are closed.