Skip to content

Where are they now: Printz Winners

printz award sealThe ALA Youth Media Awards always make me think about past winners and where they are now. So today we look back at past Printz Award-winning authors and see what they have been up to since the auspicious day they won the award.

2012 Winner: John Corey Whaley
Since the exciting day in January 2012 when Whaley won both the Printz and the Morris Award for his debut novel, Where Things Come Back, he hasn’t published much. I can’t really blame him as I am sure he has been busy with book tours and interviews. When I interviewed him for The Hub back in January of last year he mentioned that he was working on a few projects, so I am sure we will see something soon!

shipbreaker2011 Winner: Paolo Bacigalupi
Bacigalupi had quite the wild ride in 2010 and 2001. Between his adult book The Windup Girl winning three major awards and his debut young adult novel Ship Breaker winning the Printz Award and being considered for the National Book Award, he stayed pretty busy. Since then, Bacigalupi has written The Drowned Cities, a companion novel to Ship Breaker.

2010 Winner: Libba Bray
No one will ever accuse Libba Bray of resting on her laurels. Since winning the Printz Award for Going Bovine in 2010, Bray has published two more critically (and popularly) acclaimed novels, Beauty Queens and The Diviners. I am sure Bray is busy right now, writing more books in the Diviners series.

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta2009 Winner: Melina Marchetta
Since receiving the 2009 Printz Award for her contemporary novel, Jellicoe Road, Marchetta has forayed into fantasy with great success. Marchetta uses the scene setting and character development that worked so well for her in Jellicoe Road to make Finnikin of the Rock, Froi of the Exiles and the upcoming Quintana of Charyn a wonderfully immersive fantasy series.

2008 Winner: Geraldine McCaughrean
After the chilling White Darkness won the Printz, McCaughrean has worked on many projects in many areas, largely writing books for younger children. Most notably, she was selected to write the authorized sequel to J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan, Peter Pan in Scarlet.

2007 Winner: Gene Luen Yang
Yang has been enjoying a very busy career of late. Famous for writing the first graphic novel to win the award, American Born Chinese, he has since published The Eternal Smile, Animal Crackers and Level Up. He now writes the graphic novel continuation of Avatar: The Last Airbender and has an upcoming duet of graphic novels, Boxers & Saints.

Looking for Alaska by John Green2006 Winner: John Green
Do I really need to mention all of John Green’s accomplishments since winning the Printz Award for his debut novel, Looking for Alaska? Green’s popularity has soared with five more best-selling books and the nerdfighter community he has built online with his brother, Hank.

2005 Winner: Meg Rosoff
There is no Dog is where I started wondering where past Printz winners were today. When I saw it reviewed in a magazine, I was reminded of how long it had been since I had seen a book by her and decided to do some digging. Since how i live now won the Printz Award in 2005, Rosoff has published several books. Her newest title, There is no Dog, spurred some interesting discussions around the concept of God as a teenage boy.

first part last2004 Winner: Angela Johnson
A personal favorite, The First Part Last was a sweet (and unfortunately short) story. Since winning the award for her touching story of a teen father, Johnson has gone on to write similarly brief but heartfelt stories for teens like Heaven, Sweet, Hereafter and A Certain October.

2003 Winner: Aidan Chambers
Aidan Chambers’s award winning Postcards from No Man’s Land was a complex and rich novel. Novels as dense as Postcards are not written in a month, and Chambers’s publications after the award have been long in coming. Most recently he published The Kissing Game, an interesting collection of short stories, and Dying to Know You.

2002 Winner: An Na
Like Chambers, An Na, has published few books since A Step from Heaven won the 2002 Printz Award. Although it has been ten years since her debut novel was published, she has only written two books — Wait For Me and The Fold — since.

2001 Winner: David Almond
Riding the high from Skellig being named a Printz honor in 2000, Almond won the award for Kit’s Wilderness in 2001. Since then Almond has been up to more projects then I can recount. Most notably he has written a prequel, My Name is Mina, to his debut novel.

monster2000 Winner: Walter Dean Myers
A publishing behemoth, Myers has published over 30 books for kids and teens since winning the first Printz Award for Monster, the story of a young man on trial. Never one to take a vacation, Myers is currently serving as the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature.

Good luck to the 2013 recipient of the Michael. L. Printz Award, Nick Lake, for his book In Darkness. Be assured that we at The Hub will be keeping an eye on Printz winners into the future.

— Kate McNair, currently reading Prodigy by Marie Lu

The following two tabs change content below.

Kate McNair

Kate is the Young Adult Librarian for the Johnson County Library in the Kansas City metro area. She loves, playing roller derby, crafting and being surprised!

Latest posts by Kate McNair (see all)


  1. Ms B Ms B

    Thanks for posting this, I thoroughly reading it.

  2. sharon sharon

    nice piece and I like the perspective of seeing what each winner/author has accomplished to date..

Comments are closed.