Skip to content

Teens’ Top Ten: The False Prince Readalikes

2013 November 14
by Amanda Margis
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

TeensTopTen_logo_webOver 32,000 teen readers cast their vote for the 2013 Teens’ Top Ten, and The Hub is celebrating their choices! Today we feature Jennifer A. Nielsen, whose book The False Prince is #2 on this year’s Teen’s Top Ten list.

false prince jennifer a nielsen coverThe False Prince begins where many other books have: a dismal orphanage full of abandoned children and a terrible caretaker. But after that, nothing in this book is predictable or ordinary. Sage, formerly of said dismal orphanage, is “adopted” by a nobleman named Conner for a devious purpose, train to become the long lost Prince Jaron and assume the throne of Carthya. With more twists and turns than a corn maze in October, Sage navigates the plots and intrigues of not only Conner’s ambitions but also the rumors surrounding Prince Jaron and his tragic royal family. But Sage is no pawn in anyone’s game, and uses his cunning, his sarcasm and his defiance to forge his own way.

But part of what makes The False Prince so great is so what makes it hard to recommend other great books to read next!  The False Prince is book one in Nielsen’s Ascendance Trilogy and book two, The Runaway King is out now with book three, The Shadow Throne, being released February 2014. But if you’ve already burned through the first two books (like I have) and are impatiently awaiting book three (like I am), here are some other books that also involve plot twists, courtly intrigues and sassy heroes and heroines.

  • Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore
  • Changeling by Philippa Gregory
  • Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant by Tony Cliff
  • The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima
  • The False Princess by Eilis O’Neal
  • Finnikin of The Rock by Melina Marchetta
  • The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
  • Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
  • Reckless by Corneila Funke
  • Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
  • The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

- Amanda Margis, reading Are You Going to Kiss Me Now by Sloane Tanen and listening to Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie by David Lubar

Share and enjoy

  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS
One Response leave one →
  1. November 15, 2013

    Excellent suggestions! I agree with all of them!

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Current month ye@r day *

What is 5 + 8 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human).

Email
Pinterest
WP Socializer Aakash Web