Skip to content

Midseason Finales Got You Down? Try These Readalikes for the CW Fall Lineup!

2013 December 9
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

The fall lineup on The CW has been running for a couple of months now, and we are finally getting used to some familiar faces while we get accustomed to lots of new ones as well.  Century-old intrigue, new secret facilities, fallen angels and some old-fashioned family drama are surprising us at every turn.  Even if you don’t watch every show on the Network of Beautiful People, we all feel a little connection to the network for the plethora of stories it’s told over the years.  If you’re a fan, there are a certain group of “types” you might have in regards to your kind of fiction.  You might love the supernatural, or have an affinity for people who kick a little ass. So let’s take the time to check out a few pages–new and old–that can act as alternative entertainment as we approach that time: holiday hiatus.

12971637Hollyweird by Terri Clark.  In this lighthearted comedy, a blue-eyed fallen angel must protect a young girl who has just won a trip to meet a TV star.  This Hollywood heartthrob, who on his show drives around in a classic car killing monsters in every state, is actually the son of the devil!  Written by a Supernatural fan, this novel has all the in-jokes you could ever want, on top of a funny and adorable story in its own right.  (I’ll be honest: it was actually this book that spurred me to watch Supernatural, as I’d been afraid by that point that I would never catch up–then after reading it I decided to do what I could to make it so!)

Infinity, by Sherrilyn Kenyon.  Set in the universe originally created by Sherrilyn Kenyon for the Dark-Hunter series, Infinity is a reset button for a character who is an adult in that universe.  In New Orleans, Nick Gautier does odd jobs and runs into weird happenings.  This paranormal version of the Big Easy includes an under culture of all kinds of shapeshifters and immortals, including those who drink blood.  If you’ve already read The Vampire Chronicles and Ruined, The Chronicles of Nick are your obvious next choice for Paranormal in the Big Easy.  And there are already four of them, with a fifth coming soon!

138202Sloppy Firsts, by Megan McCafferty.  Jessica Darling loves three things:  running, writing, and her best friend Hope, who has just moved away.  In a series of five books, Jessica grows through her high school career and experiences the growing pains of both high school and college.  And we can’t forget Marcus Flutie, who flits into and out of the series, taking our hearts with him wherever he goes.  Much like those of Carrie Bradshaw, Jessica’s growing pains don’t just involve dealing with life, but with the way she approaches her writing.  After you’ve finished reading this series, take it back even further (the Jessica Darling series was written in the early 2000s) and try out the Weetzie Bat series by 2005 Edwards Award winning author, Francesca Lia Block.  You will thank me.

If you’ve got absolutely no idea what’s going on in Reign, Antonia Fraser’s Mary, Queen of Scots might be a good place to get some background on the historical figures running about in the show, including Queen Mary herself, her fiance Francis, and her future mother-in-law, Catherine de’ Medici.  The book is a bit of a tome, but it’s got lots of good information.  If you’d like a bit of court intrigue included, try The Selection series by Kiera Cass, or maybe try Philippa Gregory’s Order of Darkness for that touch of supernatural that Reign adds to a historical setting.

17824752Whether you’re more a fan of Arrow, Nikita, or The Tomorrow People, Marvel NOW’s Young Avengers is a great new comic series to start reading. Hawkeye (in the form of the great Kate Bishop, if you didn’t know there was more than one) is an Only-Human genius with a bow, who finds herself getting into trouble alongside a superhuman heir from a different dimension, a couple of good looking aliens, a witch with too much power and a very small god of Mischief.  If you find that you enjoy reading clever comics, go ahead and try out the ample plethora of Arrow’s original source material, DC Comics’ Green Arrow.

As an honorable mention, and because its sequel just came out, I’m going to add Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger to the mix if you have not yet read it.  It is perfect for The CW–awesome clothing, intrigue, vampires, werewolves, and combat training all come together in one coming-of-age boarding school story set in Victorian times.

And finally, here are some other stories that might be appealing to you watchers of the unmentioned Hart of Dixie, America’s Next Top Model, and Beauty and the Beast, and others that I didn’t reference above:

16033 81130 6315602 17165966
7823549 13132661 11723911 41666
11455096 9535351

Any other suggestions for reads viewers might like?  What do you think of the ones listed here?

*.*.*

-Jessica Pryde, about to start reading Allegiant. Finally!

Share and enjoy

  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS
One Response leave one →
  1. January 9, 2014

    Ahhh! I just found your write-up, Jessica, and it made my week. First, I love that I’m in a CW related article. That’s my most DVR’d channel. :) Then to find you enjoyed Hollyweird AND became a SPN fan…I feel like that’s the best tripoly of all-time. Thanks so much. :)

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Current month ye@r day *

What is 11 + 9 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human).

Email
Pinterest
WP Socializer Aakash Web