Skip to content

Spotlight on YALSA’s Nonfiction Award Finalists: Readalikes for Go by Chip Kidd

2013 December 18
by Guest Blogger
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

GoIn 2014 YALSA Nonfiction Award finalist, Go: A Kidd’s Guide to Graphic Design, Chip Kidd walks readers through all the different elements that come together to form good (and sometimes bad!) design.

If you like Kidd’s exploration of the principles of design, here are some other titles that might catch your fancy. The following books deconstruct different kinds of media, help readers think critically about what they see, and offer help for those interested in creating their own original content.

(The following book summaries are from the publishers’ jacket copy.)

  • made_you_lookMade You Look: How Advertising Works and Why You Should Know by Shari Graydon

Ads are everywhere: they try to be your friend on social media, pop up in the background of your video game, and even message your phone when you walk by a store. Increasingly kids are the prime target of these marketing messages. But they also have more power than ever to fight back. From the earliest roots of advertising to the undercover marketers of the 21st century, this revealing book shows where ads come from, how they work, and why kids need to be informed. Bursting with real-life examples, thought-provoking questions, hip illustrations, and plenty of tips to empower young consumers, Made You Look is every kid’s ultimate guide to the advertising universe.

  • 100_ideas_that_changed_graphic_design100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design by Steven Heller & Veronique Vienne

New in the “100 Ideas that Changed…” series, this book demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design, and how those ideas have manifested themselves in objects of design. The 100 entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical (overprinting, rub-on designs, split fountain); to stylistic (swashes on caps, loud typography, and white space); to objects (dust jackets, design handbooks); and methods (paper cut-outs, pixelation).

  • understanding_comicsUnderstanding Comics: The Invisible Art by Scott McCloud

Praised throughout the cartoon industry by such luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Matt Groening, and Will Eisner, this innovative comic book provides a detailed look at the history, meaning, and art of comics and cartooning.

  • whatcha_meanWhatcha Mean, What’s a Zine?: The Art of Making Zines and Mini-Comics by Mark Todd

A zine is a handmade magazine or mini-comic about anything you can imagine: favorite bands, personal stories, subcultures, or collections. They contain diary entries, rants, interviews, and stories. They can be by one person or many, found in stores, traded at comic conventions, exchanged with friends, or given away for free. Zines are not a new idea: they’ve been around for years under various names (chapbooks, flyers, pamphlets). People with independent ideas have been getting their word out since before there were printing presses. This book is for anyone who wants to create their own zine. It’s for learning tips and tricks from contributors who have been at the forefront of the zine movement. It’s for getting inspired to put thoughts and ideas down on paper. It’s for learning how to design and print your own zine so you can put it in others’ hands. Whatcha Mean, What’s a Zine? is for anyone who has something to say.

-2014 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults committee

Share and enjoy

  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • RSS

Comments are closed.

Email
Pinterest