Skip to content

New and Forthcoming LGBTQ Young Adult Fiction

This summer, The Hub did a round up of Speculative LGBTQ fiction and highlighted other notable LGBTQ young adult novels. If you’ve worked your way through those lists and are looking for more LGBTQ fiction, you’re in luck! This post is highlighting teen fiction that features lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and otherwise non-heterosexual identifying characters and themes that are coming out in Fall 2014 and Winter 2015.

In some of these novels, the sexual orientation and gender identity are integral to the plot, and in others, it’s just another characteristic of the protagonist. There’s a great mix of genres and styles so that any reader can find a book they’ll enjoy. With titles from debut authors as well as those firmly established in the YA world, it’s great to see such an eclectic assortment of titles.

New LGBTQ YA Fiction FallWinter 2014-2015

Realistic: Historical and Contemporary

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy NelsonI'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

This is the story of two fraternal twins, who are both artists and both struggle with their sexuality in very different ways. Both must overcome a family tragedy and their own betrayals of one another.

This novel is perfect for fans of Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley.

lies we tell ourselves by Robin TalleyLies we Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

Against the backdrop of desegration in Virginia in 1959, this is a romance between two girls and promises to be an emotional read.

Readers who liked The Miseducation of Cameron Post by emily m. danforth (2013 Morris Award Finalist) or Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Aliré Saenz (2013 Printz Honor Award, 2013 Stonewall Award, 2013 Pura Belpré Award and 2013 Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten) should check this one out.

Alex as Well by Alyssa BrugmanAlex as Well by Alyssa Burgman

Already published in Australia, this novel follows Alex, who was born intersexed, raised as a boy, but who identifies as a girl. She struggles through bullying at school and parents who don’t understand to realize her true self.

Put this in the hands of teens who like funny, relatable protagonists and Aussie YA.

Speculative: Sci-fi, Fantasy, Dystopian

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld book cover image

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

Two novels in one. In alternating chapters, this tells the story of a young debut writer struggling with pressures of publishing and personal issues and the paranormal novel she’s written. Not only does the main character have a romantic relationship with another girl, she also is of East Asian descent.

Give to readers who loved Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, especially the parts about Simon Snow (and you know, all of Westerfeld’s other books).

 Stranger by Rachel Manija Brown and Sherwood Smith 

Stranger by Sherwood Smith and Rachel Manija Brown

Set against a post-apocalpytic Los Angeles that feels like a futuristic Wild West, this novels follows a diverse cast of characters in terms of both race and sexual orientation who must navigate a landscape full of telekinetic squirrels, man-eating trees, and a bounty hunter after an ancient book.

Hand this to readers who enjoyed Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi, Legend by Marie Lu, or Love in the Time of Global Warming by Francesca Lia Block.

The Darkest Path of the Forest by Holly Black

The Darkest Path of the Forest

A brother and a sister were both in love with the same boy as children, but it didn’t matter when he was a mythical creature asleep in a glass coffin. But when he wakes up…

This dark tale of love and betrayal in a world where the fae and human live side by side is a thrilling ride that blends the struggles of contemporary teenagers with the magical world of the fae.

Although Holly Black has her own legions of fans, those who haven’t tried her yet but love Maggie Stiefvater or Laini Taylor should check out her latest.

These are just a handful of LGBTQ titles coming out in the next six months—what other YA novels with LGBTQ characters are you looking forward to reading? 

 

— Molly Wetta, currently reading Lily Blue, Blue Lily by Maggie Stiefvater