Skip to content

Midseason TV Replacements – Readalikes, Part I

I’m back with more readalikes to match some of the midseason replacements TV networks will be putting out this month and next. Some of the shows I mentioned in my two posts this fall were actually pushed forward and are only premiering this month or next, while others I mentioned have already been canceled. :-( But to the best of my ability, these are some of the new shows you can expect to hit your television soon, from networks to cable to streaming. Check out part two next week.

Fresh-Off-the-BoatFresh Off the Boat (ABC) – starring Randall Park
Based on a chef’s memoir, this family comedy is about a Taiwanese family that moves to the United States and opens a restaurant. It takes place in the 1990s, which will be fun for adults and totally hilarious for teens who view that as nearly as historical as the 1890s. Click to watch the trailer.
Readalikes:

  • Mismatch by Lensey Namioka
  • The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • Tall Story by Candy Gourlay
  • Fresh Off the Boat by Eddie Huang

 

 

will grayson

Man Seeking Woman (FXX) – starring Jay Baruchel

For older teens, this new comedy seems like a raunchier and punnier version of fall’s hit A-Z. If you like it when metaphors come to life or when people hilariously fail at finding love, this is your next show.
Readalikes:

 

 

ghosts

Sense8 (Netflix) – starring Naveen Andrews and Darryl Hannah

This paranormal thriller series has people across the globe unexpectedly linked together after a mysterious death.
Readalikes:

 

 

ms.marvelMarvel’s Agent Carter (ABC) – starring Hayley Atwell, James D’Arcy, Chad Michael Murray
The comic book adaptations keep coming! This one differs a bit in that it places a woman and her story front and center, so pair this with some of the more girl power-y comic books and action adventures out there.
Readalikes:

 

 

grant_halflives_nfThe Last Man on Earth (Fox) – starring Will Forte, January Jones, and Kristen Schaal
Yup, just what it sounds like. Forte will star as the only man left after an apocalypse, with flashbacks from his life including the other actors mentioned. Should be funny and irreverent. Click to watch the trailer.
Readalikes:

I’ll be back next week with some more for you. Happy reading – and watching!

–Hannah Gómez, currently reading The Body Book by Cameron Diaz

The following two tabs change content below.
Hannah Gómez is a former independent school librarian and now works remotely as a librarian consultant/teacher. She also teaches fitness and writes things. She is on Twitter @shgmclicious

Latest posts by Hannah Gómez (see all)