Skip to content

Midseason TV Replacements – Readalikes, Part II

More new television and more book recommendations for you try! Read on to get the dish on all the recently premiered or upcoming midseason shows. If you missed the first part, click here to see last week’s post.

princess-bride-bookGalavant (ABC) – starring Joshua Sasse
Having recently started, this miniseries mashes up Once Upon a Time, The Princess Bride and Glee and offers a silly medieval-inspired show complete with music and a ton of guest stars. The protagonist, Galavant, is on a quest to regain his true love, stolen from him by a prince. You can catch up with the series online and then watch on Sunday nights.
Readalikes:

  • Avalon High by Meg Cabot
  • The Princess Bride by William Goldman
  • Princess for Hire by Lindsey Leavitt
  • Discworld series by Terry Pratchett

 

 

liarsThe Royals (E!) – starring Elizabeth Hurley and William Moseley
Surprisingly not a reality series, this scripted show is about a modern-day British royal family. Expect a lot more drama and hijinks than you’re used to seeing from Kate Middleton. This will probably lean more towards Prince Harry. Hand your readers some novels about American royalty or something that will help them understand just how the British political system works.
Readalikes:

  • The A-List series by Zoey Dean
  • We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
  • Hotlanta series by Denene Millner
  • The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett

 

 

blink&cautionEye Candy (MTV) – starring Victoria Justice
Never tell your hacker bud to sign up for online dating. She’ll learn way too much about the guys on the site! In this new thriller, Justice plays a 21-year-old who suspects that one of the guys she meets online may be a serial killer.
Readalikes:

  • Endangered by Lamar Giles (releases April 2015)
  • Blink & Caution by Tim Wynne Jones
  • The Eye of Minds by James Dashner
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

 

 

love.is.the.drugCSI: Cyber (CBS) – starring Patricia Arquette and James Van Der Beek
Yes, another spinoff. But this one may appeal more to the younger set. Though it stars a middle-aged detective at a cyber crimes division, the techie atmosphere should be a draw. And who doesn’t love a good mystery? Fans of the books below may also like the recommendations to go with Eye Candy above.
Readalikes:

  • Don’t Turn Around by Michelle Gagnon
  • Love is the Drug by Alaya Dawn Johnson
  • Code Name Komiko by Naomi Paul
  • Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

 

 

AnotherKindofCowboyThe Odd Couple (CBS) – starring Matthew Perry, Thomas Lennon, and Lindsey Sloane
What is it by now – a remake of a remake of a remake? Of a remake? At any rate, it’s always funny to pit two dissimilar people against each other and make them try to retain their friendship while each one gets on the other’s nerves. Click to watch the trailer.
Readalikes:

  • Another Kind of Cowboy by Susan Juby
  • The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade
  • The Unbearable Book Club for Unsinkable Girls by Julie Schumacher
  • The Vow by Jessica Martinez

–Hannah Gómez, currently deciding on her next book

The following two tabs change content below.
Hannah Gómez is a former independent school librarian and now works remotely as a librarian consultant/teacher. She also teaches fitness and writes things. She is on Twitter @shgmclicious

Latest posts by Hannah Gómez (see all)