Skip to content

Oscars Best Picture Nominees: Readalikes

Credit Flickr user Rachel Jackson
Credit Flickr user Rachel Jackson

We are in the midst of Hollywood’s award show season with what seems to be an endless variety of shows every weekend. Each show bringing new red carpet styles, Youtube-able acceptance speeches and a new list of what films to watch. In the spirit of this flurry of film festivities and movie lists, we thought a readalikes post would be the best way for us at the Hub to partake in all of this fun. So in preparation for the quintessential award show, the Oscars, we’ve come up with a list of a YA readalikes for some of this year’s most talked about films – The Academy Awards Best Picture Nominees.

Special thanks goes to Hannah Gomez, Jennifer Rummel, Erin Daly, Tara Kehoe, Sharon Rawlins, Jessica Lind and Wendy Daughdrill for helping to create these booklists.  

American Sniper  

 

The Imitation Game  

Boyhood

Birdman 

  • Battling Boy by Paul Pope
  • Rise of Renegade X by Chelsea M Campbell
  • Cloak Society by Jeramey Kraatz
  • Illusive by Emily Lloyd-Jones
  • Hero by Perry Moore (Best Books for Young Adults 2008)

Selma 

  • March: Book One by John Lewis
  • Lions of Little Rock by Kristin Levine
  • Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson
  • Fire from the Rock by Sharon M. Draper
  • Lies we tell ourselves by Robin Talley                             

Whiplash 

The Grand Budapest Hotel 

The Theory of Everything

  • You can check out our post from Gretchen Kolderup about recent YA biographies from last spring.

Any books that you would like to add to our Oscar readalikes list? Let us know in the comments below!

-Katie Shanahan Yu, currently reading Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole

The following two tabs change content below.

Katie Shanahan Yu

Katie Shanahan Yu is a Media Specialist for a middle school in Rockville, MD. Find her on Twitter: @kakakates

Latest posts by Katie Shanahan Yu (see all)

2 Comments

  1. Zlhna Zlhna

    What a great idea! I absolutely love this article! What a fun way to find reading inspiration

  2. For a Selma readalike, The Rock and the River by Kekla Magoon.

Comments are closed.