Skip to content

Booklist: Recent YA Fiction about Technology for Teen Tech Week

Teen Tech Week begins March 6th and runs through the time to showcase all of the great digital resources and services that are available to help teens succeed in school and prepare for college and 21st century careers as well as to highlight programs that emphasize science, technology, engineering, arts, and math. For programming ideas, see this post at the YALSAblogTechnology and Science in YA Fiction for Teen Tech Week

It’s also a great time to highlight YA fiction that deals with technology issues. From steampunk to science fiction to thrillers, the theme of technology in the lives of humans cuts a across genres and can spark interesting conversations about the use and limits of technology. These 2015 and 2016 titles are great to highlight in a display in the library. Consider adding flyers that also remind patrons of the availability of digital books and audiobooks or sharing a “virtual” display on social media. Later this week, we’ll feature nonfiction resources on technology and science. 

Science and Technology in YA Fiction

Willful Machines by Tim Floreen

In this near future thriller, scientists have created Charlotte an artificial human with intelligence, who has uploaded her consciousness to the Internet and started terrorizing the American people—including the son of the president, Lee, who already has enough problems, like trying to keep the Secret Service off his back and figuring out what to do about his crush on new guy, Nico.

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

This is the story of a young Hispanic boy from the Bronx dealing with grief and identity and just wanting to forget who he is — in a world where there’s a company whose offering a mind-altering procedure that can do just that.

Where Future’s End by Parker Peevyhouse

Interconnected stories of five teens from two different worlds, one of of which is coming to an end, examine the way that technology and social media impact our lives in this new release for fans of Ghosts of Heaven or Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick.

The Rule of Three by Eric Walters

Adam fights to survive after a catastrophe knocks out power, utilities, and computer access in this thriller.

Six by Mark Alpert

A teenager with muscular dystrophy whose main outlet is virtual reality video games is tapped to save the world from a rogue artificial intelligence program that threatens the world.

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

The daughter of physicists who have invented an apparatus that allows travel through dimensions seeks to avenge her father’s killer this this sci-fi adventure full of romance and adventure.

Steampunk and Technology in YA Fiction

Illusionarium by Heather Dixon

During research for a cure for a deadly plague, a new chemical that allows for shared hallucinations is discovered. So begins a story of adventure in parallel worlds in this richly imagined historical fantasy.

Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson

In this alternate history, the British control with magic, but an underground society of mechanics and engineers hope to gain freedom through innovation in technology.

Mechanica by Betsy Cornwall 

This Cinderella re-telling imagines Mechanica, a girl with an evil stepmother, winning her independence with her inventions at a technology fair. With hints of magic and themes of social justice, this is a captivating story — with a surprise twist.

Forthcoming Releases about Science and Technology in YA Fiction

Future Shock by Elizabeth Briggs

A team of teens with special abilities are recruited by a tech corporation to travel to the future to bring back data in this science fiction thriller.

My Brilliant Idea by Stuart David

While Jack is daydreaming in class, he comes up with a brilliant idea: an app that makes it impossible to daydream in class. Are money and fame in his future, or is reality more complicated than that?

What are some recent releases that focus on science and technology that you would recommend to teen readers? 

— Molly Wetta, currently reading Half a King by Joe Abercrombie

The following two tabs change content below.
Molly is the Senior Librarian for Youth Services, Programming, and Marketing at Santa Barbara (CA) Public Library. She is a former member manager of YALSA's The Hub.