Skip to content

#GGN2019 Nominees Round Up, April 19 Edition

Frau Faust vols. 1-4 by Kore Yamazaki
Kodansha Comics
Publication Dates & ISBNs:
Vol. 1 – September 26, 2017 – 978-1632364807
Vol. 2 – November 14, 2017 – 978-1632364814
Vol. 3 – January 23, 2018 – 978-1632365491
Vol. 4 – March 6, 2018 – 978-1632365507

Dr. Johanna Faust has been dead for over 100 years, but she is cursed with immortality by her demon, Mephistopheles. The demon was quartered by the church to stop him from giving others immortality, and now, in order to break the curse, Dr. Faust must find all of his pieces and put him back together. With the help of the young, education hungry Marion and her homunculus, Nico, Dr. Faust is well on her way to putting her demon together again in the first 4 volumes of this new manga series.

Teens will be drawn to the detailed manga style artwork as well as the creepiness of the situations that Dr. Faust and her friends encounter. Although the conflict of the story is often dark and disturbing, the lack of graphic details still makes it accessible for teens of all ages, and the complexity of Dr. Faust’s character will keep readers wanting more. Most books and movies about immortality have characters striving for it, so readers will find it interesting that the conflict of this manga is about trying to rid oneself of eternal life.

Fans of Black Butler, Full Metal Alchemist, or Yamazaki’s previous manga, Ancient Magus Bride, will surely enjoy this series as well.

–Amanda Melilli & Loren Spector

 

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur vol. 4: Girl-Moon by Brandon Montclare
Marvel Comics
Publication Date: January 9, 2018
ISBN: 978-1302905354

Lunella Lafayette goes off to help Illa, the Girl-Moon who also happens to be the moon — the WHOLE moon. In her absence, Lunella has pre-programmed Moonbots, each with a slightly different outfit, to take over tasks like eating dinner with Mr. and Mrs. Lafayette and attending P.E. class. It turns out that it’s much easier for Lunella to solve others’ problems than her own.

The series has spunky, vibrant artwork that emphasizes the of purples and pinks across Manhattan and across the solar system. Lunella also has a distinct voice and developed character that’s part inconsolable tween and part Sheldon Cooper: “I built a transdimensional teleportation craft and all it gets me is nowhere fast.”

Readers who enjoy cheering for the outsiders in Victoria Jamieson’s graphic novels or are looking for fun female leads like in Lumberjanes will appreciate this addition to Marvel’s catalog.

–Amy Estersohn

 

Archival Quality by Ivy Noelle Weir
Oni Press
Publication Date: March 06, 2018
ISBN: 978-1620104705

After losing her job at the local library, Celeste starts working at the creepy Logan Museum as an archivist. When strange occurrences start to happen, she realizes that the museum may not be the best place for her to recover from her mental health issues or her relationships. She really needs the job, so even after the spirit of a desperate girl continues to haunt her, she tries to solve the mystery rather than give up and leave. With the help of some of the museum staff, will she discover the truth about the building’s dark past before it’s too late?

Steenz’s artwork is beautiful and the subtle color shifts deftly express changes in mood, tone and time. The drawings also provide a visual expression of diversity, depicting a broad spectrum of ethnicity, sexuality and body types in a way that doesn’t feel pandering or forced. Though this story’s paranormal elements veer into creepy territory, it’s ultimately a story of self-acceptance and growth that will resonate with teens.

For fans of Taproot by Keezy Young and Kim Reaper by Sarah Graley

–Tina Lerno