Skip to content

#QP2019 Nominees Round Up, August 21 Edition

The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo
Macmillan / Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication Date: May 8, 2018
ISBN:  9780374304089 

Clara Shin isn’t much for conventional high school, but when her blood-soaked prank at junior prom turns into a school fire, her dad lays down the law and Clara finds herself manning the family food truck with her nemesis. In the heat of running the truck, Clara discovers that Rose–her arch enemy–is actually human, and then she meets Hamlet. The summer at KoBra (her father’s food truck that specializes in amazing Korean/Brazil fusion fare) gives Clara the opportunity to discover herself, her family, and new love.

From the initial hook involving a tampon and Clara’s declaration that she will be the best prom queen, to Clara’s insouciant character, readers are pulled into Clara’s messy world. The plot is cute and funny, and Clara’s interactions with her father and absentee mother, her guy pals, Rose, and Hamlet keep the story fresh and moving. Diverse characters are seamlessly integrated into this romantic comedy.

Fans of Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before or Jennifer Niven’s Holding Up the Universe will appreciate the humor and the heart of this title.

Jodi Kruse

 

Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses to Empower and Inspire You by Ann Shen
Chronicle Books
Publication Date: April 3, 2018
ISBN: 9781452163413 

From the author/illustrator of Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World comes this volume of 50 stunning watercolor images paired with one-page, illuminating essays about real goddesses of modern and historical religions and mythologies from around the world. Each essay includes the goddess’s origin and a few paragraphs about her history, mythology, and spiritual domain. The goddesses are divided into sections such as Love, Power, and Protection.

Brightly colored, body-positive illustrations make these mythological and religious figures accessible, entertaining, and very human despite their supernatural origins. This book can be read cover-to-cover quickly, or readers can bounce around between goddesses. The uplifting, empowering stories that accompany each illustration are thoughtful and concise, packing a powerful emotional punch in a few short paragraphs without including any unnecessary details. A reference list is provided at the end of the book for readers looking for more in-depth information.

Legendary Ladies is sure to be a favorite with teens who enjoyed Pénélope Bagieu’s Brazen: Rebel Ladies Who Rocked the World and Mackenzi Lee’s Bygone Badass Broads: 52 Forgotten Women Who Changed the World. Teens who are interested in religion, spirituality, and mythology will also find a lot to love in this title.

Allie Stevens