Skip to content

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2020) Nominees Round Up, March 27 Edition

On the Come Up by Angie Thomas; Narrated by Bahni Turpin
Harper Collins
Publication Date: February 5, 2019
ISBN: 9780062840691

Bri’s life has not been easy – her dad was shot when she was young, her brother made it out of the neighborhood and went to college, but is now working for minimum wage at a pizza place, and her mom just lost her job. Bri dreams of becoming a famous rapper as an answer to their troubles. She is trying to be her own person – more than the younger sister who can’t live up to her brother’s grades and more than the daughter following in her rapper father’s footsteps. She wants to be known as a rapper based on her own skills and not those of her father. In Bri’s quest to become a rapper, she must decide who and what she is willing to compromise.

Turpin’s skilled narration brings all of the distinct characters to life shedding light on the emotions and experiences of all the characters in the book. Turpin’s narration shines through in conversations various settings of the book. Turpin is also able to skillfully relay Bri’s raps.

Fans of Angie Thomas’ first book, The Hate U Give probably couldn’t wait to read her second. On the Come Up will also appeal to fans of Lamar Giles’ Spin, and Acevedo’s The Poet X. Teens who can’t get enough of the TV Show Empire, or are interested in the rap industry also might be drawn to On the Come Up.

 

–Cyndi Hamann

The following two tabs change content below.