Skip to content

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2020) Nominees Round Up, August 14 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia; narrated by Kyla Garcia
HarperCollins and Blackstone Audio
Publication Date: February 26, 2019
ISBN: 978-1982610630

We Set the Dark on Fire, by Tehlor Kay Mejia, focuses on two women who have been bitter rivals, but now have entered the same man’s house to serve him.  As the political tensions between classes rise and the personal tensions between the two females grow, listeners don’t know if the women will choose the resistance, the status quo, or each other.

Narrator Kyla Garcia conveys the angst and determination of both main characters’ voices and delivers both the range of emotions and vocal pitches needed for the entire cast of characters.  From early tensions at school to later, more sinister attacks, We Set the Dark on Fire is full of action, suspense, and a slow-burning love story.

The near dystopian feel of this book will appeal to fans of Paolo Bacigalupi’s Ship Breaker, Samira Ahmed’s Internment, Ambelin Kwaymullina’s The interrogation of Ashala Wolf, and Nancy Farmer’s House of the Scorpion. Movie fans of The Hunger Games, and Divergent will resonate with those having to make tough choices in hard times. The ambiance of the novel will also appeal to television with rich settings such as Bewitched and Riverdale.

–Sarah Wright

The following two tabs change content below.