Skip to content

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2020) Nominees Round Up, October 31 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

Screen Queens by Lori Goldstein; Narrated by Jorjeana Marie
Razorbill/Penguin Random House
Publication Date: June 11, 2019
ISBN: 9780593103531

The incredibly competitive tech incubator competition this summer has the first all-female team, comprised of organizer Lucy Katz, designer Maddie Li, and coder Delia Meyer. From diverse backgrounds, each has different goals for themselves and their team. Throughout the five-week project, they must overcome stereotypes of each other and their competitors to see if they can hack it.

The varied stories of Lucy, Maddie, and Delia are nuanced and the ways they struggle to overcome their issues are realistic and interesting.  The multifarious steps of designing an app and the various mini competitions throughout the five weeks provide fascinating insights into life in Silicon Valley.  Overall, the character, pacing, plot, and setting work together to provide a realistic and empowering story about females in tech and the hurdles they overcome along the way. Narrator Jorjeana Marie effortlessly changes pitch and cadence to reflect each girl’s character as well as narrating all others in the cast with aplomb.

Screen Queen pairs incredibly well with the nonfiction memoir Girl Code, about female teens Andrea Gonzales and Sophie Houser and their foray into the tech world after their Girls Who Code game Tampon Run went viral.  The character of Delia will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson’s Scarlett series, Gossip Girl lovers will appreciate Lucy Katz and Emery Lord readers will love the character of Maddie Li.

–Sarah Ressler Wright