Skip to content

You are viewing the Booklists category archive.

Beauty and the Beast and Other Classic Retellings

With the highly anticipated theatrical release of Beauty and the Beast starring Emma Watson and Dan Stevens comes a multitude of YA retelling book display ideas.  Below you’ll find a list of YA books inspired by the classic fairy tale. If you’re looking to expand your display or reader’s advisory, I included retellings inspired by Peter Pan, Shakespeare, and Alice in Wonderland.

 

Beauty and the Beast

In a village surrounded by a magic forest, the people rely on wizard known as Dragon to keep the magical forest’s powers away. But when Dragon requires a young maiden to serve him for ten years to fulfill the duty, Agnieszka knows her beautiful best friend will be chosen. Or will he choose someone else?

Falling on hard luck, Yeva’s family must move to the woods with the fabled beast that is the object of her father’s obsession.  When Yeva’s father is taken while on a hunting expedition, she must return to the woods to get him back.

Belle is a lot of things and one of them is being trapped in a castle by the beast.  When Belle unwittingly touches the Beast’s rose, she discovers that her mother is the reason for the curse and Belle and the Beast search for clues to break it. Continue reading Beauty and the Beast and Other Classic Retellings

Leave a Comment

Booklist: Books with Bakers, Chefs, and Other Food Enthusiasts

Everyone has to do it eventually but surprisingly few YA fiction books have any reference to it. I’m talking about cooking and baking, of course. When I started thinking about read-a-likes for Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, I knew I wanted to feature some books with bakers like Lara Jean. That wound up being harder to find than I expected which also made me think that others might be interested in a more exhaustive list of books for teens with bakers, chefs, and foodies. For other books with teen chefs, be sure to check out the 2011 Popular Paperbacks “What’s Cooking?” List!

  • Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake: Hadley and Sam are both hurting. They’re feeling abandoned and maybe even betrayed by their parents’ choices. Neither of them expects to find comfort or connection with the other–especially Sam who knows exactly how ludicrous their mutual attraction really is–but then they find exactly that. And maybe more

Continue reading Booklist: Books with Bakers, Chefs, and Other Food Enthusiasts

2 Comments

Diverse Debuts of 2017

At The Hub, we’re committed to spotlighting not only books that feature characters from diverse backgrounds, but also books written by diverse authors. Did you miss some diverse debuts of 2016? Check them out.

diverse-debuts-2017

In the back of Audrey’s closet sits a letter written by her birth mother.  Audrey has yet to read the letter but when she learns she is pregnant, Audrey suddenly understands what it’s like to be a pregnant teen who must make life altering decisions.

Rhee is an empress who will do almost anything to claim the throne and Aly is a rising star of his planet that has been accused of killing Rhee. What happens when their two planets collide?

Based on Asian Folklore and mythology, this reimagination of the evil queen from Snow White is about a woman who longs to be empress and the jealous god she unleashes to fulfill her desires. Continue reading Diverse Debuts of 2017

Leave a Comment