Skip to content

You are viewing the YA Literature category archive.

Booklist: Books with Bakers, Chefs, and Other Food Enthusiasts

Everyone has to do it eventually but surprisingly few YA fiction books have any reference to it. I’m talking about cooking and baking, of course. When I started thinking about read-a-likes for Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, I knew I wanted to feature some books with bakers like Lara Jean. That wound up being harder to find than I expected which also made me think that others might be interested in a more exhaustive list of books for teens with bakers, chefs, and foodies. For other books with teen chefs, be sure to check out the 2011 Popular Paperbacks “What’s Cooking?” List!

  • Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake: Hadley and Sam are both hurting. They’re feeling abandoned and maybe even betrayed by their parents’ choices. Neither of them expects to find comfort or connection with the other–especially Sam who knows exactly how ludicrous their mutual attraction really is–but then they find exactly that. And maybe more

Continue reading Booklist: Books with Bakers, Chefs, and Other Food Enthusiasts

2 Comments

Diverse Debuts of 2017

At The Hub, we’re committed to spotlighting not only books that feature characters from diverse backgrounds, but also books written by diverse authors. Did you miss some diverse debuts of 2016? Check them out.

diverse-debuts-2017

In the back of Audrey’s closet sits a letter written by her birth mother.  Audrey has yet to read the letter but when she learns she is pregnant, Audrey suddenly understands what it’s like to be a pregnant teen who must make life altering decisions.

Rhee is an empress who will do almost anything to claim the throne and Aly is a rising star of his planet that has been accused of killing Rhee. What happens when their two planets collide?

Based on Asian Folklore and mythology, this reimagination of the evil queen from Snow White is about a woman who longs to be empress and the jealous god she unleashes to fulfill her desires. Continue reading Diverse Debuts of 2017

Leave a Comment

Narrative Nonfiction with Social Justice Themes Part II

Previously, I shared a list of nonfiction that tackles issues related to social justice. But there’s not shortage of narrative nonfiction with social justice themes, so today I’m back with even more resources for teens These titles include biographies and historical nonfiction, and cover issues ranging from the denial of basic human rights in foreign countries or rape on college campuses. These books aim to share this information,  but also include  storiesthat can inspire action.  

narrativenonfictionpartii

Every Falling Star:The True Story of How I Survived and Escaped North Korea by Sungju Lee (2016)

When is father loses his government job and abandons him, Lee struggles to survive with a gang of boys. This moving memoir showcases the hardships of life in North Korea In addition to fighting for basics like food and shelter, Lee and his family also live in fear of what would happen if they tried to escape the country. This book can serve as a jumping off point for discussions on basic human rights. 

The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights by Steve Sheinkin (2015)

Steve Sheinkin writes narrative nonfiction for every reader and his award finalist is no different. This book chronicles the lives of  segregated sailors working the docks in Port Chicago when they were charged with mutiny for refusing to return to work after an explosion. Sheinkin addresses the prejudice in the military, where men and women served their country but were also fighting for basic rights. Continue reading Narrative Nonfiction with Social Justice Themes Part II

Leave a Comment