Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, May 27 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

cover art

The Gentleman’s Guide to Getting Lucky (Montague Siblings, Book 1.5) by Mackenzi Lee; narrated by Christian Coulson
HarperAudio
Release date: 11-26-19
ISBN: 9780062968883 

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, May 27 Edition

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, May 20 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

Allies audiobook cover art

Allies by Alan Gratz Narrated by Jamie Cline, Vaneh Assadourian, PJ Ochlan, Matthew Frow, Marc Anthony Samuel, Norah Hunter
Scholastic Audio
Publication Date: October 15, 2019
ISBN: 9781338567182

Allies follows the lives of six different young people on D-Day, June 6th, 1944. Dee a German national who grew up in the states and lies about his age to join the Army, Samira an Algerian girl whose mother is a French resistance spy, James a Canadian paratrooper, Henry an African American medic from Chicago, Bill an English tank driver and Monique a French girl living in a village outside of Normandy Beach. The narrative zips between these six stories which often intersect, telling how each of our main characters got to June 6th and leaving the reader wondering if they’ll make it to June 7th alive. This audiobook is an account of young people’s activity in WWII minus the extreme gore or language found in many adult books. 

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, May 20 Edition

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, May 13 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

cover art

All-American Muslim Girl by Nadine Jolie Courtney; Narrated by Priya Ayyar
Dreamscape Media, LLC
Publication Date: November 12, 2019
ISBN: 978-1974959310 

Allie carries more of her white mother’s genes than her Circassian Jordanian father’s, and because of this, has been witness to the racism and Islamophobia of some of her peers. She has also had a complicated relationship with her Muslim faith, as her mother was a convert upon marrying her father, and her father is no longer practicing, and she seeks what it means to be Muslim for her. At her new school in Providence, Georgia she starts dating Wells Henderson, son of one of the country’s biggest Islamophobic radio personalities. 

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, May 13 Edition

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, April 29 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

Wayward Son (Simon Snow Series, Book 2) by Rainbow Rowell, narrated by Euan Morton
Macmillan Audio
Release date: 09-24-19
ISBN: 978-1250146076

A year after he’s saved the world, Simon is struggling to find his place in life.  So his boyfriend Baz and friend Penny decide to take him on a road trip in the U.S. Penny is also worried about their friend Agatha who is now in California avoiding magic.  In an epic trip across the country, they find friends and foes, and rescue Agatha from a terrible fate.

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, April 29 Edition

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, April 8 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

cover art

Fireborne by Rosaria Munda; Narrated by  Christian Coulson, Candice Moll, and Steve West
G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers  / Listening Library
Publication Date: October 15, 2019
ISBN: 978-0525518211

Coming from vastly different class backgrounds, Annie and Lee have been close friends since meeting at the orphanage nine years ago. Both were orphaned: Annie losing her family at the hands of Lee’s father in an act of oppression, and Lee’s family of dragonborn rulers slaughtered in a bloody revolution that overthrew the aristocracy.

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, April 8 Edition

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, April 1 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

Chaotic Good by Whitney Gardner; Narrated by Patricia Santomasso
Listening Library
Publication Date: December 31, 2019
ISBN: 9781524720803

Cameron is a talented clothing designer and seamstress, and her favorite creations are cosplay. When she and her family move from Portland to the smaller town of Eugene, Oregon the summer before her senior year, she wants to put all her effort into her portfolio for design school. Unfortunately, she has online trolls harassing her because of her limited video game and comic book knowledge, and a real-life bully who works at the local comic shop and thinks all girls know nothing about comic book canon and nerd fandoms.

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, April 1 Edition

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, March 25 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

145th Street: Short Stories Anniversary Edition by Walter Dean Myers; Narrated by Brandon Gill, Almarie Guerra, Johnny Heller, Dominic Hoffman, Sullivan Jones, JaQwan J. Kelly, Adenrele Ojo, Paula Parker, Heather Alicia Simms, Bahni Turpin
Listening Library
Publication Date: January 14, 2020
ISBN: 9780593119662

This book of short stories follows the residents of 145th Street in Harlem as they live their daily lives and face a variety of conflicts. While they could be read and enjoyed as individual stories, they are interconnected to be read as fluidly as a novel. The characters learn about family, love, and community. Some face situations that could be pulled out of modern headlines, like gang threats and police brutality.

First published in 2000, the audiobook of this twentieth anniversary edition includes many great narrators, perfectly paired with their respective stories. The audiobook includes additional content after the stories, including a Q&A with the author about his writing, information about Harlem, and tributes to Walter Dean Myers and his legacy, written by popular children’s and young adult authors. 
Fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas will enjoy these short stories, and there are echoes of Myers work in Reynolds Look Both Ways: A Tale Told in Ten Blocks. For readers who enjoy their fiction in short, quick bursts, this audiobook will be just right, and those who want more of the community feeling might want to pick up Jacqueline Woodson’s Harbor Me next. 

–Tara Williams

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, March 25 Edition

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, March 18 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

All the Things We Do in the Dark by Saundra Mitchell; Narrated by Kelly Pruner
HarperAudio
Publication Date: October 29, 2019
ISBN: 978-1094078885

Ava was raped as a nine year old girl, and it left scars inside and out.  Now all her connections with people start with the “scar on her face” story.  She comes across a frozen body of a brutalized teen, whose ghost becomes a fixture in Ava’s life as she struggles with what to do about her body.

The audiobook format is really effective for the stream of consciousness style of this book. With the narrator we are inside Ava’s head and able to experience her world from her point of view.
Similar in suspense to books like I Know You Remember by Jennifer Donaldson, those who like dark stories of resilience and suspense with LGBTQ characters will like All the Things We Do in the Dark.

  –Cathy Outten

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, March 18 Edition

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, March 11 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

cover art

Light It Up by Kekla Magoon; Narrated by Landon Woodson, Karen Chilton, Cherise Booth, Eevin Hartsough, Christopher Carley, Peter Jay Fernandez, T.Ryder Smith, Julian Thomas, Kevin R. Free, and Korey Jackson
Recorded Books
Publication Date: October 22, 2019
ISBN: 978-1250128898
Shae Tatum hurries home from school one night. She has her earphones on, tuning out the world around her. Shae is tall and looks much older than her thirteen years. A case of mistaken identity leads to tragedy.

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, March 11 Edition

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, March 4 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Amazing Audiobooks nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

The Year We Fell From Space Cover Art

The Year We Fell From Space by Amy Sarig King; Narrated by Stephanie Willing
Scholastic Audio / Scholastic 
Publication Date: October 1, 2019
ISBN: 978-1987162448
Liberty Johansen loves making her own constellations. After her parents announce that they will be separating and getting a divorce, Liberty asks the stars to fix her family, which is when a meteorite falls from the sky, almost into her lap. Following her parents announcement Liberty learns about her father’s depression, and starts having feelings of her own of depression and anxiety. While trying to reconcile her mother’s sense of calm after the breakup, her little sister’s refusal to leave the house, and the sudden absence of her father in her life, the meteorite begins to communicate with her.

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2021) Nominees Round Up, March 4 Edition