Skip to content

Tag: emma steinkeller

Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (#QP2020) Nominees Round Up, December 3 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

cover artWill My Cat Eat My Eyeballs?: Big Questions from Tiny Mortals About Death by Caitlin Doughty
W. Norton Company
Publication Date: September 10th, 2019
ISBN: 9780393652703

Written by a mortician in question and answer chapters, this book explores some of the more icky and intriguing questions about human corpses. Examples include: Can I keep my parents’ skulls after they die? and What happens if you die in space? With a perfect amount of snark and lighthearted illustrations, this book is a fun (if morbid) read for readers of all ages interested in knowing the facts of death.

Easy to read and funny, with an eye-opening title, this book is a fun book for those who like real life ickiness or simply want to understand more about the processes bodies go through post-mortem. Doughty’s upbeat answers and fast pacing make the read go along quickly even for the most reluctant reader. 

Will My Cat Eat My Eyeballs? is perfect for fans of Mary Roach’s non-fiction, the podcast Sawbones by Justin and Sydnee McElroy, and the podcast Death in the Afternoon by Caitlin Doughty, Sarah Chavez, and Louise Hung.

–Cathy Outten

Comments closed

Great Graphic Novels (#GGN2020) Nominees Round Up, October 31 Edition

Click here to see all of the current Great Graphic Novels nominees along with more information about the list and past years’ selections.

Sabrina the Teenage Witch by Kelly Thompson and Veronica Fish
Archie Comics
Publication Date: December 10, 2019
ISBN: 978-1682558058

In this reboot of Sabrina the Teenage Witch, Sabrina Spellman has just moved to Greendale with her aunts Hilda and Zelda and their sassy talking cat (and former wizard), Salem. Sabrina blondes up her naturally white hair in an attempt to fit in better, but this falls to the bottom of her priority list when she is attacked by monsters outside of the high school. As Sabrina works to solve the mystery of the monsters and the surging magic in Greendale, she also catches the attention of love interests Harvey and Ren, makes friends with Jessa, and incurs the wrath of mean girl Radka.

Comments closed