Great Apps For Readers

TTW13_banner1002x200

As a fan of both technology and reading, I love finding a great app almost as much as I love finding a great book. Even better is finding the perfect combination of the two: an app related to books or authors. In honor of Teen Tech Week, here are some great examples of apps that will appeal to readers.

Book Tie-In Games

With the skyrocketing popularity of mobile apps, many app designers have started designing apps that are set in the worlds of popular books. These apps are often released to coincide with the debut of a movie based on the book. Check out these games if you think playing through the world of your favorite books sounds like fun.

  • Temple Run: Oz: Wizard of Oz fans who are looking forward to seeing Oz The Great and Powerful will enjoy this version of the popular Temple Run games. While the gameplay is similar to that found in the other versions of Temple Run, the entire world is designed to look like Oz and includes functionality specific to the world, such as the ability to fly in a hot air balloon. Available for both Android and iOS devices, fans of Oz will want to take this chance to run down the Yellow Brick Road as Oz himself.
  • The Adventures of Tintin: The Game: With great 3D graphics that look a lot like the animation of the recent Tintin movie, this game will immerse you in the world of Tintin. At various points, you play as several different iconic Tintin characters, including his dog Snowy. Versions are available for both Android and iOS devices. And, for big Tintin fans, there is also an interactive version of the book, The Art of the Adventure of Tintin, available for iPad.

Continue reading Great Apps For Readers

If You Like This Book, Try This App

photo courtesy of Flickr user William Hook
photo courtesy of Flickr user William Hook
I love books, my iPad, and match-making, so in honor of Teen Tech Week, a YALSA initiative that promotes ethical and competent use of technology, I wanted to pair some of my new favorite books with some of my favorite apps.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the UniverseFans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the History of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz (2013 Best Fiction for Young Adults, 2013 Printz Honor Award) will enjoy the Go SkyWatch Planetarium Guide for iPad or Google Sky Map for Android devices. Both use GPS locators to generate a map of the sky with a guide to all the planets and stars, complete with interesting information. It’s the perfect app to take out into the desert for some stargazing, just like Aristotle and Dante loved to do.

Those who loved Across the Universe by Beth Revis (2011 Readers’ Choice nominee) can explore the universe from the comfort of their own home with Solar Walk for iPhone or iPad or Solar Planets 3D for Android devices. Both these apps are tours of our solar system that allow users to zoom in on planets while learning the history of space exploration. Who says you need a spaceship to navigate through space and time?

Continue reading If You Like This Book, Try This App

The Monday Poll: Virtual Worlds

whoa by thelousheGood morning, Hub readers!

Last week we asked which spring sequel you were most looking forward to. We didn’t include Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers in the poll, but it got a shout-out in the comments. (The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson, The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater, Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas, Just One Year by Gayle Forman, and Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins were also mentioned in the comments, but those are all summer and fall titles, so keep an eye out for later polls to vote for them!)

Among the titles we did include in our poll, Requiem by Lauren Oliver (released on March 5) was your top pick with 23% of the vote. Game by Barry Lyga (April 16, 17%), Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare (March 19, 15%), Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta (April 23, 14%), and The Elite by Kiera Cass (April 23, 13%) also made good showings. You can see detailed results for all of our previous polls in the Polls Archive. Thanks to all of you who voted!

This week is Teen Tech Week, so we’re looking to technology this week for inspiration. Tell us: which virtual world from a YA novel would you most like to live in? Vote in the poll below and leave us a comment telling us why you voted the way you did!

[poll id=”86″]