Great Graphic Novels (#GGN2023) Featured Review of Radium Girls by Cy.

Radium Girls by Cy.
Iron Circus Comics
Publication Date: May 3, 2022
ISBN: 9781945820991

In 1918, lucky young women looking for work might be hired at the watch factories, where they were taught to use their lips to moisten the brush they used to paint the radium on watch faces to make them glow. They became “ghost girls”, glowing about town as the life of the party,  but unknowingly ruining their health to the point of death with the radium infused paint they were using.

Continue reading Great Graphic Novels (#GGN2023) Featured Review of Radium Girls by Cy.

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2023) Featured Review of Answers in the Pages by David Levithan

Answers in the Pages by David Levithan
Narrated By: Christopher Gebauer, Vikas Adam, and Oliver Wyman
Imprint/Publisher: Listening Library
Publication Date: May 10, 2022
ISBN: 9780593608258

Donovan’s book assignment turns his town upside down when parents try to ban the book, The Adventurers. Donovan’s own mother leads the charge because of a possible romantic relationship between the two main characters, Rick and Oliver. Donovan and his classmates will stand up to his town to prevent the book from being banned. In a parallel narrative, the listener is introduced to Gideon and Roberto who are drawn together as they complete a school assignment. 

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2023) Featured Review of Answers in the Pages by David Levithan

Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (#QP2023) Featured Review of Our Crooked Hearts by Melissa Albert

Our Crooked Hearts by Melissa Albert
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Imprint:
Release date: June 28, 2022
ISBN: 9781250826367

Magic, mystery and witchcraft combine explosively in this dark fantasy. Ivy’s summer vacation plans go awry when she’s involved in a car accident with a stranger who appears naked in the middle of the road. From there, things get creepy and weird quickly. As Ivy struggles to make sense of secrets she didn’t know her mother had, she is drawn into a world of witchcraft and sinister supernatural powers. Gripping and fast paced, this is an enticing blend of mystery, magic and terror.

Continue reading Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (#QP2023) Featured Review of Our Crooked Hearts by Melissa Albert

Great Graphic Novels (#GGN2023) Featured Review of Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End, vol. 1-4 by Kanehito Tamada and Tsukasa Abe

Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End, vol. 1-4
by Kanehito Yamada and Tsukasa Abe
VIZ Media
Publication Date: May 17, 2022
ISBN-13: 9781974727254

Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End, vol. 1-4 is the story of what happens at the end of an epic adventure. Elves in this world live much longer than humans and even dwarves. As the years pass after her world-saving adventure with Himmel the Hero, the corrupt priest Heiter, and dwarven fighter Eisen, Frieren watches her compatriots age and die, sending her on a literal and emotional new journey. Along the way, Frieren must grapple with the concept of mortality while letting new humans get close to her.

Continue reading Great Graphic Novels (#GGN2023) Featured Review of Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End, vol. 1-4 by Kanehito Tamada and Tsukasa Abe

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2023) Featured Review of Jennifer Chan is Not Alone by Tae Keller

Jennifer Chan is Not Alone by Tae Keller
Narrated by Shannon Tyo, Carolyn Kang and Tae Keller
Listening Library
Publication Date: April 26, 2022
ISBN: 9780593559994

Thanks to her popular best friend Reagan, Mallory Moss knows the key to surviving middle school: fit in and keep your head down. When new student Jennifer Chan moves in across the street from Mallory, it becomes clear that the openly trusting, alien-obsessed new kid is never going to make it at school. Then Jennifer goes missing. Did she run away like all the adults are saying? Or did something happen to her? The closer Mallory gets to finding Jennifer, the more she has to face why Jennifer may have disappeared. 

Continue reading Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2023) Featured Review of Jennifer Chan is Not Alone by Tae Keller

Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (#QP2023) Featured Review of Queen of the Tiles by Hanna Alkaf

Queen of the Tiles by Hanna Alkaf
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Imprint: Salaam Reads
Release date: April 19, 2022
ISBN: 9781534494558

One year ago, Najwa Bakri’s best friend, Trina Lowe, collapsed during a Scrabble Tournament. Fast forward one year. Najwa returns to compete, determined to win Trina’s title and heal herself. With Trina aka “Queen of the Tiles gone, the title is up for grabs. All bets are off when Trina’s Inactive Instagram account begins posting cryptic messages. The messages suggest that Trina’s death was not accidental and someone at the tournament may be responsible.

Continue reading Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (#QP2023) Featured Review of Queen of the Tiles by Hanna Alkaf

Great Graphic Novels (#GGN2023) Featured Review of Pixels of You by Ananth Hirsh, Yuko Ota, and J.R. Doyle

Pixels of You by Ananth Hirsh, Yuko Ota and J.R. Doyle
Amulet Books
Publication Date: February 8, 2022
ISBN-13: 9781419749575

Pixels of You is a futuristic story about two photographers completing an internship at an art gallery. Indira, a human girl with a cybernetically augmented eye, and Fawn, an AI who appears human, don’t get along when they first meet. When their conflict leads to a public argument, their mentor assigns their final project to be a cooperative gallery show. Forced to work together on their photography, this is a short but sweet enemies-to-lovers story.

Continue reading Great Graphic Novels (#GGN2023) Featured Review of Pixels of You by Ananth Hirsh, Yuko Ota, and J.R. Doyle

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2023) Featured Review of Daughter of the Moon Goddess by Sue Lynn Tan

Daughter of the Moon Goddess by Sue Lynn Tan
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
HarperCollins Publishers Inc. | Harper Audio
Release date: January 11, 2022
ISBN: 9780063031340

Xingyin grew up on the moon, the secret daughter of the Moon Goddess who was imprisoned on the moon by the Celestial Emperor. One evening, Xingyin’s world shatters when she is discovered and she is forced to flee her home. Left with nothing, she becomes a servant in a noble house, and vows to do everything she can to free her mother. Her promise leads her on a perilous quest and pits her against the most powerful ruler in all the realms–the Celestial Emperor.  

This retelling of Chinese folktales brings to life a mythological realm full of beauty and mystery while expanding on mythology that hasn’t really been explored in much depth. It provides an opening to new stories in an engaging way. The narrator creates a “classic fairytale” atmosphere that works well with the story. 

Perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden and The Star Touched Queen. The Daughter of the Moon Goddess is a fantasy full of court intrigue and royalty. 

-Josie Snow

The Selected Lists teams read throughout the year in search of the best titles published in their respective categories. Once a book is suggested (either internally or through the title suggestion form), it must pass through a review process to be designated an official nomination. 

Each week, the teams feature a review of one of the officially nominated titles. Additional titles to receive this designation are listed as well. At year’s end, the team will curate a final list from all nominated titles and select a Top Ten.

Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (#QP2023) Featured Review of The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson

The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson
Publisher: Random House Children’s Books
Imprint: Delacorte Press
Release date: May 3, 2022
ISBN: 9780593431115

Popular, wealthy Alice disappeared last summer for five days after her boyfriend Steve dumped her and started dating her ex-best friend Brooke. Quiet, smart Iris envy’s Alice’s ability to disappear and escape her problems and wishes she could run away from her troubled past too. When Alice returns to school, Iris takes a job tutoring her. Even though the two girls don’t get along, they quickly bond when Brooke is found dead after getting in a fight with Steve at a party. Now Alice and Iris are determined to find out what really happened to Brooke that night. Using Alice’s obsession with Agatha Christie’s as their guide they begin to investigate the town, their classmates and the cops. But soon the girls find themselves in danger when they uncover corruption and dark secrets in every corner of their town.

Continue reading Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (#QP2023) Featured Review of The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson

Great Graphic Novels (#GGN2023) Featured Review of Far Sector by N.K. Jemisin, Jamal Campbell and Deron Bennet

Far Sector by N.K. Jemisin, Jamal Campbell and Deron Bennet
Young Animal / DC
Publication Date: November 16, 2021
ISBN-13: 9781779512055

Sojourner “Jo” Mullen is a new Green Lantern on a mission far from home, investigating a murder in The City Enduring, a sprawling metropolis that has known peace for 500 years due to the genetic suppression of all emotions. When one murder turns to two, Jo finds herself grasping for answers in a political, ethical, and corrupt quagmire. Can she stay one-step ahead of the forces blocking her path?   

Continue reading Great Graphic Novels (#GGN2023) Featured Review of Far Sector by N.K. Jemisin, Jamal Campbell and Deron Bennet