Where Are They Now? Morris Award Finalists & Winners

yalsa morris winnerHave you ever wondered what YALSA’s Morris Award winning authors have been up to today since they were recognized for their first novels? Well then, this post is the one for you.

For a little background, YALSA has been giving out the Morris award since 2009, which honors debut young adult authors with impressive new voices. This post is not intended to be a comprehensive list of  what all of the finalists and winners have been up to, but it’ll give you an idea of what some of our Morris winners and finalists have been writing since winning their awards. (Be sure to take a look at the full list of Morris winners and finalists.)

Then: 2009 Awards 

  • 2009 Winner – A Curse Dark As Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce
  • 2009 Finalist  – Graceling by Kristin Cashore

And Now!

  • Star Crossed by Elizabeth C. Bunco
  • Kristin Cashore finished her Graceling trilogy with Fire and Bitterblue 



Then: 2010 Awards

  • 2010 Finalists – Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, Hold Still by Nina LaCour and Ash by Malinda Lo

And Now! 

  • Icons by Margaret Stohl
  • Unbreakable by Kami Garcia 
  • The Disenchantments & Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour



  • Adaptation by Malindo Lo

Then: 2011 Awards

  •  2011 Winner: The Freak Observer by Blythe Woolston
  • 2011 Finalists: Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey and Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride

 And Now! 

  • Black Helicopters by Blythe Woolston
  • When We Wake by Karen Healey

The sequel While We Run was recently released this spring.

  • Firebug by Lish McBride   Ava can start fires with her mind, otherwise known as a firebug in this new world Mcbride created. The onlyproblem is that she’s a contract killer for the magical mafia who has just been contracted to kill a family friend… She rebels and disappears on the road with some friends while they try to figure out a way out of all this…

Then: 2012 Awards

  • 2012 Winner – Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley
  • 2012 Finalists – The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson and Shades of Gray written by Ruta Sepetys

And Now! 

  • Noggin by John Corey Whaley 
  • Rae Carson finished her trilogy with The Crown of Embers and The Bitter Kingdom. Below is an interview with Carson when the final book of the trilogy was released. 
  • Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

What do you think of the “Where are they Now” books? Have you read any of them? Any books we missed on this list that you want to include in the comments? Let us know!

– Katie Shanahan Yu, currently reading I am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai with Christina Lamb

Published by

Katie Shanahan Yu

Katie Shanahan Yu is a Media Specialist for a middle school in Rockville, MD. Find her on Twitter: @kakakates