Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers (#QP2024) Featured Review: 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers by Adam Sass

  • 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers
  • by Adam Sass
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Imprint: Viking Books for Young Readers
  • Release Date: September 20, 2022
  • ISBN: 9780593464786

Micah Summers wants a boyfriend, but approaching a boy makes him extremely anxious. Instead, he draws potential boyfriends in fantastical settings and anonymously shares them on his Insta-loves Instagram account. He’s drawn 99 boys and is looking for Boy 100, whom he hopes will be the one. Micah thinks his dream has come true when he has a chance encounter with a cute boy aboard the L train.

Told in first-person, this meet-cute LGTBQIA+ rom com is is filled with fairytale romance. The dialogue is well-written, showcasing humor and angst in equal measure. The black and white illustrations add to the cute romance quotient. This Cinderella story definitely will have fans.

Teens who enjoy romance, social media, and art will most appreciate this book. Those who enjoyed the Heartstopper series will also enjoy this title. Fans of Phil Stamper, Becky Albertalli, and Casey McQuiston will love this book.

-Lorrie Roussin

Other Nominated Titles

Release Date: September 13, 2022
Release Date: November 8, 2022

The Selected Lists teams read throughout the year in search of the best titles published in their respective categories. Once a book is suggested (either internally or through the title suggestion form), it must pass through a review process to be designated an official nomination.

Each week, the teams feature a review of one of the officially nominated titles. Additional titles to receive this designation are listed as well. At year’s end, the team will curate a final list from all nominated titles and select a Top Ten.