Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2024) Featured Review: Flowerheart by Catherine Bakewell

  • Flowerheart
  • by Catherine Bakewell
  • Narrated by Morag Sims
  • HarperCollins Publishers, Inc. | HarperTeen
  • Publication Date: March 14, 2023
  • ISBN: 9780063214651

Clara has never been able to truly control her magic, and while it creates great inconveniences for her, it has never hurt anyone, until now. When her latest magical test fails miserably and those in charge threaten to bind her magic, Clara’s magic lashes out and curses her father. Clara must find a way to heal the flowers that are growing out of her father’s insides before she loses her magic and is unable to fix it. She finds an unlikely ally with her ex-best friend Xavier, who offers a deal that will benefit them both. 

This fantasy blends unique magical abilities with an engaging plot that keeps readers discovering something new every step of the way. Morag Sims brings the whimsy of this book to light and her voice balances Clara’s sweetness with her magic’s sourness. While this audiobook is a comforting romp through a new magical world, it takes on mental health issues and anxiety in a gentle yet realistic way. It is a contemporary cousin to Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones and will also appeal to fans of A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer. This audiobook will delight high fantasy fans who love romance mixed in with their new magical worlds. 

-Sarah Carpenter

The Selected Lists teams read throughout the year in search of the best titles published in their respective categories. Once a book is suggested (either internally or through the title suggestion form), it must pass through a review process to be designated an official nomination.

Each week, the teams feature a review of one of the officially nominated titles. Additional titles to receive this designation are listed as well. At year’s end, the team will curate a final list from all nominated titles and select a Top Ten.