Celebrating Faces of Filipino American Music and YA Storytelling

October is Filipino American History Month, celebrating the second-largest Asian American ethnic group in the U.S. It honors the first recorded arrival of Filipinos in the continental United States in 1587. U.S. Congress officially recognized October as Filipino American History Month in 2009 (Filipino American National Historical Society [FANHS], 2020).

So, let’s celebrate! Here are some of the music artists and YA authors contributing to Filipino American history:

Listen

H.E.R.

Ruby Ibarra

Olivia Rodrigo

Toro y Moi

Read

Tracy Badua

Mike Curato

Juleah del Rosario

Makala Gharib

Maura Milan

Rod Pulido

Randy Ribay

-Stephanie Mahar

References

About. (n.d.). Juleah del Rosario. https://www.juleahdelrosario.com/ 

About the author. (n.d.). Rod Pulido. https://www.rodpulido.com/aboutandcontact 

Bazan, M. (2022, April). [Photograph of Toro y Moi wearing hat]. MusicTech. https://musictech.com/features/interviews/toro-y-moi-new-album-mahal/ 

Blake, F. (n.d.). [Photograph of Juleah del Rosario]. https://images.squarespace-cdn.com/content/v1/58917c85a5790a492c823600/1569625827149-2USP4RRFJRQAYGMPR86V/Juleah+delRosario-3.jpg?format=2500w 

Blog. (2019). Maura Milan. https://www.mauramilan.com/blog 

Curato, M. (2023). Mike Curato. https://www.mikecurato.com/ 

Filipino American National Historical Society. (2020). About Filipino American history month. http://fanhs-national.org/filam/about/

Fury, R. (2020, January 26). [Photograph of H.E.R. at the 62nd Annual Grammy Awards]. Harper’s BAZAAR. https://www.harpersbazaar.com/celebrity/latest/a30668618/her-without-sunglasses-grammys-2020/

Geffen Records. (n.d.). Olivia Rodrigo. https://www.oliviarodrigo.com/ 

HarperCollins, & Huang, A. (2023, January). [Image of book cover and author, Tracy Badua]. KPBS Public Media. https://cdn.kpbs.org/90/c4/3a0f8f164508ad1cf61be0724ef7/tracy-badua-this-is-not-a-personal-statement.jpg  

Macaya, L. (2023). [Photograph of the author, Randy Ribay]. http://www.randyribay.com/uploads/1/0/9/7/109705059/ribay-author-photo-by-leopaldo-macaya-2023_orig.jpg 

Malaka Gharib. (n.d.). https://www.malakagharib.com/ 

Mercene, M. [Photograph of Malaka Gharib]. (n.d.). Malakagharib.com. https://images.squarespace-cdn.com/content/v1/626c4eb59f0cac06991e5799/94afcc15-9a37-44bf-96a6-ab9cb1305939/IMG_0044+%281%29.jpg?format=1500w 

Osborne, D. (n.d.). Mike Curato. Macmillan Publishers. https://us.macmillan.com/author/mikecurato 

Randy Ribay. (n.d.). http://www.randyribay.com/ 

Ruby Ibarra Entertainment, LLC. (2023). Ruby Ibarra. https://www.rubyibarra.com/

Sony Music Entertainment. (2023). H.E.R. https://www.her-official.com/

Sykes, C. [Photograph of Olivia Rodrigo on NBC’s “Today” show at Rockefeller Plaza]. (2023, September). KING 5 Media Group. https://www.king5.com/article/news/nation-world/olivia-rodrigo-2024-arena-world-tour-full-list-dates-prices/507-5f065a7c-6a15-42a5-8786-b94d9d8f84df 

Toro y Moi. (n.d.). Retrieved October 16, 2023 from, https://toroymoi.com/ 

Vilcek Foundation. (2023, March 20). [Photograph of Ruby Ibarra for Vilcek Foundation Prize]. https://vilcek.org/news/ruby-ibarra-language-is-a-form-of-survival/

Villanueva, G. (n.d.). Tracy Badua: Author. https://tracybadua.com/