Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2024) Featured Review: Whiteout by Dhonielle Clayton, Tiffany D. Jackson, Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, Ashley Woodfolk, and Nicola Yoon

  • Whiteout
  • by Dhonielle Clayton, Tiffany D. Jacson, Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, Ashley Woodfolk, and Nicola Yoon
  • Narrated by Nic Stone, Danielle Shemaiah, Shayna Small, Bahnie Turpin, Alaska Jackson, Joniece Abbott-Pratt, Kevin R. Free, James Fouhey, and Korey Jackson
  • Publisher: Harper Collins Publishers, Inc./Quill Tree Books
  • Publication Date: November 8, 2022
  • ISBN: 9780063088177

It’s winter holiday time and science-minded Stevie made a mistake. A huge mistake. She must find a way to apologize to her girlfriend, romance-loving Sola, or lose her forever. An amazing group of friends pitch in and help her attempt the apology of a lifetime, while also navigating their own love stories. The only problem is, Atlanta is experiencing a once-in-a-decade snowstorm.  

The same authors who brought us 2021’s Blackout, are back at it, this time in Atlanta. Twelve young friends work together to help save a relationship at risk. Stevie enlists her friends to help, and all are on board, but when Sola issues a time-sensitive ultimatum, the rush is on. Stevie’s friends adapt, but there’s a bigger problem: Atlanta is experiencing a snowstorm. Flights are delayed or canceled, roads are dangerous, and time is running out. During the course of the book, six couples will face second-chances, friends-to-lovers, and the realization that friendship and love are the most important part of the holiday season. 

Multiple narrators expertly represent the diverse cast of characters, each narrator reading one of the stories. The pacing and intonation of each narrator lifts each couple off the page making their stories come alive. This fun, fast-paced, romance has something for everyone.


For fans of Blackout by the same group of authors. Readers who enjoyed audiobooks like Slay! by Brittney Morris, Ibi Zoboi’s Pride, narrated by Elizabeth Acevdeo, or reruns of the 80s sitcom A Different World will enjoy this story of Black love and friendship.

-Jen Haas

Other Nominated Titles

September 13, 2022
January 10, 2023
September 13, 2023
February 7, 2023

The Selected Lists teams read throughout the year in search of the best titles published in their respective categories. Once a book is suggested (either internally or through the title suggestion form), it must pass through a review process to be designated an official nomination.

Each week, the teams feature a review of one of the officially nominated titles. Additional titles to receive this designation are listed as well. At year’s end, the team will curate a final list from all nominated titles and select a Top Ten.

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2024) Featured Review: The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen

  • The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
  • by Issac Blum
  • Narrated by Josh Bloomberg
  • Publisher: Books on Tape/Listening Library
  • Publication Date: September 13, 2022
  • ISBN: 9780593630037

Hoodie Rosen’s life is pretty good. He likes his friends, he has a great relationship with his sisters, and he enjoys playing basketball with his classmates. Sure, he is fitting in with his entire Orthodox Jewish community, adjusting to a new town actively campaigning against them and a recent string of anti-semantic hate crimes, but Hoodie’s happy. He has his Kosher snacks, and he just met Anna-Marie Diaz-O’Leary, a non-Jewish girl whose mother, the mayor, opposes Hoodie’s community. Hoodie is smitten with Anna-Marie though; he believes they are meant to be together. However, as the violence towards Hoodie’s community grows, he begins to question his faith, what it means to love, and where he truly belongs. The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen is realistic fiction and is an own-voices, character-driven novel.

Narrator, Josh Bloomberg, beautifully brings to life Isaac Bloom’s Morris Award-winning novel. Bloomberg perfectly blends humor and snark to give Hoodie a realistically unique voice as he explores painful topics of hate crimes and religious prejudice with heartfelt realism. The book is entertaining, powerful, and perfect for fans of Jeff Zentner and Deb Caletti.

-Rebecca Baldwin

Other Nominated Titles

Release Date: January 10, 2023
November 8, 2022
Release Date: September 13, 2023
Release Date: February 7, 2023

The Selected Lists teams read throughout the year in search of the best titles published in their respective categories. Once a book is suggested (either internally or through the title suggestion form), it must pass through a review process to be designated an official nomination.

Each week, the teams feature a review of one of the officially nominated titles. Additional titles to receive this designation are listed as well. At year’s end, the team will curate a final list from all nominated titles and select a Top Ten.

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2024) Featured Review: For Lamb by Lesa-Cline Ransome

  • For Lamb
  • by Lesa Cline- Ransome
  • Narrated by Tyla Collier, Kevin R. Free, Dion Graham, Rebecca Lee, Jaime Lincoln Smith, and Angel Pean
  • Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC/Dreamscape Media
  • Publication Date: January 10, 2023
  • ISBN: 9781666631708

Lesa Cline-Ransome’s latest, For Lamb, is an intense and tragic story of how an innocent friendship can place a family in mortal danger in 1930’s Mississippi. Lamb is a quiet student in Jackson’s African-American high school; she is bright but naïve, unaware that her mother’s “friend” is a fellow lesbian, for instance. When Marny, a white girl, strikes up a conversation about a book they are both reading, Lamb tries to ignore her as she has been instructed, to the point of rudeness–but the two enter into a defiant and secretive friendship that leads to danger for Lamb, a flight north for her brother and charismatic uncle, a reunion with her estranged father…and a violent lynching scene that is immediate and heart-wrenching. 

The gripping full-cast audio production features Tyla Collier, Kevin R. Free, Dion Graham, Rebecca Lee, Jaime Lincoln Smith, and Angel Pean. Their voices capture the many layers present in every social interaction in the post-Depression Deep South, from Lamb’s naivete to her mother’s cultivated secrecy. It is also evident that the various narrators consulted on each other’s voices as well as crafting their own; each character’s voice is distinctive, no matter who is voicing whom at any given moment. Lesa Cline-Ransome’s “Langston” trilogy earned the author a readership in middle grade audiences; For Lamb assures her a special place in historical fiction for older teens as well.

Those who appreciate Harper’s Lee’s To Kill A Mockingbird, A Wreath for Emmett Till by Marilyn Nelson, and/or Simeon’s Story: An Eyewitness Account of Kidnapping Emmett Till by Herb Boyd and Simeon Wright should definitely consider For Lamb.

-Cathy Andronik

Other Nominated Titles

Release Date: September 13, 2022
Release Date: November 8, 2022

The Selected Lists teams read throughout the year in search of the best titles published in their respective categories. Once a book is suggested (either internally or through the title suggestion form), it must pass through a review process to be designated an official nomination.

Each week, the teams feature a review of one of the officially nominated titles. Additional titles to receive this designation are listed as well. At year’s end, the team will curate a final list from all nominated titles and select a Top Ten.