Best Fiction for Young Adults (#BFYA2025) Featured Review: Your Lonely Nights Are Over by Adam Sass

  • Your Lonely Nights Are Over
  • by Adam Sass
  • Publisher: Viking
  • Release date: September 12, 2023
  • ISBN: 9780593526583

Dearie and Cole are ready to take on their senior year as they always have, together as a team of fabulous, inseparable gay besties. But when a serial killer from decades earlier makes a comeback in their hometown, taking on senior year means taking on a murderer. Together, the two try to piece together how the past murders relate to the present so they can catch the serial killer before he catches them. 

This fast-paced thriller will have teens on the edge of their seat and keep them guessing. The classic murder mystery vibe is taken to new heights with a diverse group of characters, all members of their high school’s Queer Club, now having to fight for their lives. The book feels especially true to today, with the serial killer’s exploits featured in a true crime documentary that the teens use to try and solve the case.

Your Lonely Nights Are Over is a great pick for teens obsessed with true crime or serial killers who don’t mind a little blood. Teens who liked the murder mystery There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins or the irreverently ghoulish This Delicious Death by Kayla Cottingham are sure to enjoy this book.

-Kameron Morton

Other Nominated Titles

The Selected Lists teams read throughout the year in search of the best titles published in their respective categories. Once a book is suggested (either internally or through the title suggestion form), it must pass through a review process to be designated an official nomination.

Each week, the teams feature a review of one of the officially nominated titles. Additional titles to receive this designation are listed as well. At year’s end, the team will curate a final list from all nominated titles and select a Top Ten.
The Best Fiction for Young Adults Committee appreciates teen feedback as members evaluate the nominated titles. Teen librarians are encouraged to share the List of Potential Nominees under consideration with their patrons and solicit feedback using the link: https://bit.ly/BFYA25TeenFB

Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers (#QP2024) Featured Review: 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers by Adam Sass

  • 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers
  • by Adam Sass
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Imprint: Viking Books for Young Readers
  • Release Date: September 20, 2022
  • ISBN: 9780593464786

Micah Summers wants a boyfriend, but approaching a boy makes him extremely anxious. Instead, he draws potential boyfriends in fantastical settings and anonymously shares them on his Insta-loves Instagram account. He’s drawn 99 boys and is looking for Boy 100, whom he hopes will be the one. Micah thinks his dream has come true when he has a chance encounter with a cute boy aboard the L train.

Told in first-person, this meet-cute LGTBQIA+ rom com is is filled with fairytale romance. The dialogue is well-written, showcasing humor and angst in equal measure. The black and white illustrations add to the cute romance quotient. This Cinderella story definitely will have fans.

Teens who enjoy romance, social media, and art will most appreciate this book. Those who enjoyed the Heartstopper series will also enjoy this title. Fans of Phil Stamper, Becky Albertalli, and Casey McQuiston will love this book.

-Lorrie Roussin

Other Nominated Titles

Release Date: September 13, 2022
Release Date: November 8, 2022

The Selected Lists teams read throughout the year in search of the best titles published in their respective categories. Once a book is suggested (either internally or through the title suggestion form), it must pass through a review process to be designated an official nomination.

Each week, the teams feature a review of one of the officially nominated titles. Additional titles to receive this designation are listed as well. At year’s end, the team will curate a final list from all nominated titles and select a Top Ten.

Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers (#QP2024) Featured Review: Five Survive by Holly Jackson

  • Five Survive
  • by Holly Jackson
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • Release Date: November 29, 2022
  • ISBN: 9780593374160

Red is on a spring break trip with five of her friends, driving an RV to their from Philadelphia to the Gulf Shore. But then the RV breaks down in the middle of nowhere. They have no cell phone service, four busted tires, plenty of beer, but not a lot of food and it’s getting dark. Then, just as they think things couldn’t get worse, someone starts shooting at the RV, trapping the six teens inside. As the scary, terrible night unravels, secrets about each of the six teens will be revealed, and they’ll each be forced to make terrible choices in order to survive because it’s unclear whether the real monster is outside the RV or inside it.

Twists don’t even begin to describe the back and forth, constant plot bombs that happen in this story. Be prepared to think you know what’s going on, only to have the rug pulled out from under you every few pages. Each revelation in the plot pulls the reader in and encourages them to keep going until the final scene. The narration is first person and easy to follow, the characters are relatable and tinges of humor often break the tension.

Fans of Holly Jackson’s other mystery series books will love this new standalone. Readers looking for a twisty mystery with an unreliable narrator would also like The Cousins by Karen McManus and The Counselors by Jessica Goodman. For more survival, trapped in a vehicle suspense, try Girl Overboard by Sandra Block.

-Rachel Adams, Teen Services Librarian, King County Library System

Other Nominated Titles

Release Date: September 20, 2022

The Selected Lists teams read throughout the year in search of the best titles published in their respective categories. Once a book is suggested (either internally or through the title suggestion form), it must pass through a review process to be designated an official nomination.

Each week, the teams feature a review of one of the officially nominated titles. Additional titles to receive this designation are listed as well. At year’s end, the team will curate a final list from all nominated titles and select a Top Ten.