Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2024) Featured Review: What Happens After Midnight by K.L. Walther

  • What Happens After Midnight
  • by K.L. Walther
  • Narrated by Tina Wolstencroft
  • Tantor Media, Inc. | Tantor Audio
  • Publication Date: June 27, 2023
  • ISBN: 9798350836394

Lily Hopper is happy to let her senior year of high school end in a boring whimper. However, Lily’s plans change when she gets a mysterious note recruiting her to help plan the school’s senior prank. Lily is excited until she learns the prank’s mastermind is her ex-boyfriend, Taggart. Lily broke up with Tag over a year ago, but never got over him. As Lily and Tag work together, secrets and old hurts resurface while romantic feelings return. 

What Happens After Midnight is a fun rom-com of high school hijinks. The story is equal parts romance and thoughtful exploration of the emotions that surround leaving the familiarity of high school and progressing to the unknown of college. The parallel storylines of the senior year prank and the remembrance of Lily and Tag’s relationship allow the book to straddle the genres of romance and realistic fiction to widen its teen appeal. The book’s fast-paced story of mishaps during the night while they try to pull off the “perfect prank” will appeal to reluctant readers. 

Wolstencroft narration perfectly brings to life the fun overnight escapade of the prank while beautifully expressing Lily’s feelings of loss and confusion. The narrator takes the listener on an emotional roller coaster ride of Lily’s uncertainty of the future, exhilaration of the adventure, and the possibility of romance. Fans of Lynn Painter’s Better Than the Movies and Rachel Lynn Solomon‘s Today, Tonight, Tomorrow will enjoy this page-turner of a rom-com.

–Rebecca Baldwin

Other Nominated Titles

Release Date: August 29, 2023
Release Date: June 6, 2023

The Selected Lists teams read throughout the year in search of the best titles published in their respective categories. Once a book is suggested (either internally or through the title suggestion form), it must pass through a review process to be designated an official nomination.

Each week, the teams feature a review of one of the officially nominated titles. Additional titles to receive this designation are listed as well. At year’s end, the team will curate a final list from all nominated titles and select a Top Ten.

Amazing Audiobooks (#AA2024) Featured Review: Pride and Prejudice and Pittsburgh by Rachel Lippencott

  • Pride and Prejudice and Pittsburgh
  • by Rachel Lippencott
  • Narrated by Natalie Naudus and Shakira Shute
  • Simon & Schuster Audiobooks | Simon & Schuster Audio
  • Publication Date: August 29, 2023
  • ISBN: 9781797161617

A spin on a regency romance, Pride and Prejudice and Pittsburgh is a Sapphic time travel story about finding yourself. The main characters, Audrey and Lucy, are brought together when a toss of a coin transports Audrey from 2023 Pittsburgh to 1812 England. Through the course of the story Audrey and Lucy each embark on journeys of personal discovery; Audrey needs to find herself to find her way back home and Lucy needs to find a new place where she can be herself.

The narrators do an excellent job bringing these characters and their emotional journey to life. Natalie Naudus’ rich tone gives voice to Audrey beautifully and Shakira Shute’s expert portrayal of the raw emotion of Lucy’s story makes listening to the audiobook very immersive.

This title is perfect for readers who enjoy Casey McQuiston, Ashley Poston, and Mackenzi Lee. It is also great for fans of Bridgerton and Outlander.

-Haley Shaw

Other Nominated Titles

Release Date: April 4, 2023
Release Date: November 7, 2023
Release Date: January 31, 2023
Release Date: May 16, 2023
Release Date: June 13, 2023
Release Date: March 21, 2023
Release Date: January 31, 2023
Release Date: January 17, 2023

The Selected Lists teams read throughout the year in search of the best titles published in their respective categories. Once a book is suggested (either internally or through the title suggestion form), it must pass through a review process to be designated an official nomination.

Each week, the teams feature a review of one of the officially nominated titles. Additional titles to receive this designation are listed as well. At year’s end, the team will curate a final list from all nominated titles and select a Top Ten.